Anzac Biscuits with Macadamia Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Great recipe for everyday or get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Yacolt, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
My brother and I loved these cookies, they tasted like honey granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Friends at work rated these between 3 and 5. Someone suggested adding chocolate chips. If I made these again, I would not toast the macadamia nuts. I didn't care for the toasted flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I put the baking powder in at the wrong stage (oops!) and left out the macadamias (I'm a broke student) and it still turned out nice. I was a little nervous half way through, the dough was very crumbly and in no shape to teaspoon onto my tray. However after compressing the dough into hard little balls in my fist and then flattening them into biscuit shapes it turned out just lovely. They remind me a little of the uncle toby's break free biscuits. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
these turned out shaped more like cookies than biscuits, but they were delicious! I cut down on the sugar and they were still plenty sweet enough. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Very good recipe. I'm an expat Aussie living in the US, and miss Anzac biscuits. FYI, don't let the name fool you. A biscuit is the UK/Australian term for "cookie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
tried it out the other day & proven to be some success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Hammarby Sjöstad, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These cookies are habit-forming! I've used this recipe several times because I love the taste of macadamia nuts and coconut. The only thing I do differently is add more water; about 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons. The mixture will not hold together for me otherwise. For a uniform product, I press the cookie dough into a small cookie scoop, place them on an airbake cookie sheet then flatten them with a greased and sugared glass bottom (make sure it's flat-bottomed.) At 12 minutes, they are chewy; at 15 minutes they are crunchy, as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! This cookie is best described as a chewy (or crunchy) sweet oatmeal cookie. It is very delicious. The macadamia nuts and coconut flakes give the cookie a great texture that compliments the oatmeal. What I like about this recipe is that it is egg-free, so the batter is definately safe to eat! The time-consuming part of the baking process is placing the dough on the cookie sheets. The dough is crumbly, and a bit dry so I recommend rolling the dough into small balls (not too compact), and then flattening them, shaping them into circles. The three centimeters for spacing is something that should be taken into consideration because these cookies do spread out quite a bit. I was also told by an Australian friend to let the cookies "age" for two or three days to achieve a chewier texture. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
The thing I liked best about preparing this cookie was no electric beater. One less thing clean and put away. The stages were easy and the results were as written in the directions. Baked for 12 minutes gives you a nice sweet chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States