Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Much different from the standard cookie mixes from my American recipes. I made these for an Aussie friend of mine. She was so excited. Although, I ended up using Karo light syrup instead of the golden. She assured me they tasted the same as what she remembered her mother making. I've tried with regular coconut and toasted. My household liked it best with the toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Really nice. I used shreaded cocconut in mine, instead of flaked, and they turned out really well. Reminds me of the ones my mother used to make as a child... Dead simple as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Ahh, a taste of home on a cold northeastern American winters day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
A few changes: I toasted the coconut first before adding to dry ingredients. I added 1/2 cup dried currants to the dry ingredients. I used 1/2 c + 1 T butter, substituted molasses for the golden syrup and used 2 T of it. I formed the dough into 5 logs and baked for 20 minutes. Then I let the logs cool and cut each log into 6 slices. Then I toasted the slices in the oven at 150 deg for 6 hours, flipping midway through. This way the cookies are nice and crunchy and perfect for dipping into tea. Each cookie has 4.5 g fat and 9.5 g carb. With the modifications this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
These cookies are great! They have a great crispy texture and taste awesome. The only thing I did different was toast the coconut and use Karo light corn syrup. I entered them in open competition at the Iowa State Fair for Ethnic Cookies and they placed second! The judge just loved their crispiness. I highly recommend these cookies, especially for those who love a good crunchy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I followed recipe exactly. Dont overbake, they come out of the oven soft, but quickly become a very crunchy cookie. I usually prefer a softer cookie, but actually really liked the flavor. The more you eat, the better they become!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I had store made ones when i was in new zealand and i loved them, they were quite popular there and i found this recipe and just made them and they are great, its a taste of nz to hold me through till i get back! this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Wonderful good "cripsy" cookies! They stay crisp, even after you dunk them in cold milk. Found "golden syrup" at a store carrying British items, the taste is well worth it to find that item. Cookies were a bit hard to remove from greased cookie sheets; switched to parchment paper and it was much easier. You can use the parchment paper over and over to cook the entire batch. The recipe made 4 dozen, but I ate over a dozen while baking them last night. Another favorite of the Key West Dessert Lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I found these to be the best anzac bixcuits I have tasted,and I am an Australian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverton, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Yum! Though mine only took about 12 minutes to bake. But thanks, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States