Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I did used this recipe for Culture Day with my daughter's Daisy Troop. Everyone Loved them! This is a very quick and easy recipe anyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My 9 year old Grandson and I made these biscuits (cookies) for a class presentation on Australia. We use unsweetened coconut and added a 1/4 teaspoon salt. If your dough is crumbly, just add more water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until the dough holds together. We used a small cookie scoop (about 1-1/2” across) and flattened the biscuits a bit. After baking they came out about 3 inches across. Our biscuits were smaller, so we baked them 10 minutes @ 350F. They came out crispy but a bit tough and chewy in the middle. After they cooled for half an hour, they crisped up more. We also found them a bit greasy; next time we’ll try 1/3 cup butter and add 1/4 cup more flour, for a softer cookie (personal preference). UPDATE: I used 1 cup coconut, 1-1/4 cup flour, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/3 cup butter, on my second attempt; and baked them @300F, 13 minutes. They were softer, as I had hoped. Either way the flavor of these biscuit is great A Google search found the original recipe on the Australian Government Department of Veterans’ Affairs website. Sharon’s recipe is spot on, except the original recipe calls for 1 cup coconut. NOTE: The Australian Tablespoon is actually about 1 teaspoon larger than the US Tablespoon; 1 (US) Tablespoon PLUS 1 (US) teaspoon is equal to 1 (Australian) Tablespoon. Adjust teaspoon measurements, using just slightly rounded teaspoons (or fractions of teaspoon) in Australian recipes; unless it is noted that measurements have been converted to US measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I'm American but lived in Australia for a few years and am married to an Aussie. He gave this 2 thumbs up. The only adjustment I made is reducing the cooking time as he likes his biscuits chewy. I cooked them around 9 minutes and allowed them to cool on the cookie sheet for several minute until set then continued to cool on a rack. This was very similar to a recipe featured in the Sydney Morning Herald on ANZAC day this year. Thanks for making the hubby happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I've made these a number of times now- mainly with children in the classroom or at home. This is a solid recipe and very easy to make with kids. Great tactile experience if you just let everyobody get their hands into it. I've found that making these thicker leadsto a finished product that stays soft, while thinner gives you teething quality biscuits after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious cookies!!! Though they do not taste quite as amazing as our Aussie friends made a while ago, these are still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Thank you for sharing your Bikkie recipe. I once had this recipe from an Assie friend and had since lost it. He always added golden rasins to his as well. Love them! Easy to make and easier to dissapear! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My Australian friend also add nuts and dried fruits to his biscuits. His version is really really good. One day he brought me one with golden raisins, walnuts, dried apricots and dried cranberries...yumo! I also added more of the golden syrup to the "batter" to help hold the ingredients together. The addition of the fruit and nuts makes more syrup necessary. He also reminded me that allowing the biscuits to cool on the pan for a few minutes is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
We have a bakery in town that makes Anzac cookies and I have been looking for a recipe. This one is pretty close. The only changes that I made was adding ground walnuts and adjusting the bake time. I found that 12 mins. was perfect. The first batch was13 mins. and the edges were almost burnt. I used a small ice cream/cookie scoop and since the cookies really spread, I only put 8 on each baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I am not sure why everyone says these are really good and rates them a 4*. I'm giving it a 5* because I did find them really good. Easy to put together. Easy to eat one and then another and then another! :) I rolled mine into little balls and flattend with a fork to ensure uniform consistancy. They do spread a little so allow for this when putting on the cookie sheet. Watch your time as well. Mine were a nice toasty brown colour after only 13 minutes. Set your timer for 10 and just for a quick check. I'd also suggest doubling the recipe to save you having to make a second batch when your first one is gone in 30 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
As I live in the US, I could not find golden syrup. I made a batch of Anzac bikkies using light corn syrup (and margarine instead of butter) and another batch using maple syrup (and again margarine). The corn syrup biscuits took much shorter time to cook and had a much better flavor. The maple syrup ones took a lot longer to cook and did not taste as good as the corn syrup batch, however they looked nicer since they didn't spread out over the whole pan. If you have to substitute golden syrup, use corn syrup and reduce your baking time. I also understand that using real butter makes the cookies crispier. My family likes them chewy so I use margarine. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States