Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
For a chewy anzac, substitute the white sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar & up the golden syrup to 2 or 3 tablespoons & cut the water to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Tasty! I cut back the baking time to 15 mins. (dough size of walnut or slightly larger.) They were still crispy and not overcooked. For a chewy cookie, I would reduce even further to 13 mins. I found golden syrup on Amazon. It would probably be fine to use corn syrup or maybe even honey, though latter would alter the taste, and either would make them less authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I have these and they are SO GOOD. Now when my box of Anzac's Biscuits are gone, I can make them and enjoy them anytime I want. So good and not many calories--really good for you. Great on Fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The first time I made these I was skeptical on how they'd turn out because the batter is very dry and falls apart, but the cookies turned out great. A friend of mine suggesting adding more butter and syrup to make the consistency of the batter easier to work with, DON'T DO THIS! I added just a tiny bit extra syrup than the recipe called for and my cookies turned out FLAT and inedible!! So, I threw out that batter and followed what the recipe called for and made perfect "biscuits" again :-) Don't be put off by the consistency of the batter! They don't taste half bad either, I made them for my daughters girl scout troop, cookies aren't my thing, but if they were, I'd give it 5 stars :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I did used this recipe for Culture Day with my daughter's Daisy Troop. Everyone Loved them! This is a very quick and easy recipe anyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My 9 year old Grandson and I made these biscuits (cookies) for a class presentation on Australia. We use unsweetened coconut and added a 1/4 teaspoon salt. If your dough is crumbly, just add more water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until the dough holds together. We used a small cookie scoop (about 1-1/2” across) and flattened the biscuits a bit. After baking they came out about 3 inches across. Our biscuits were smaller, so we baked them 10 minutes @ 350F. They came out crispy but a bit tough and chewy in the middle. After they cooled for half an hour, they crisped up more. We also found them a bit greasy; next time we’ll try 1/3 cup butter and add 1/4 cup more flour, for a softer cookie (personal preference). UPDATE: I used 1 cup coconut, 1-1/4 cup flour, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/3 cup butter, on my second attempt; and baked them @300F, 13 minutes. They were softer, as I had hoped. Either way the flavor of these biscuit is great A Google search found the original recipe on the Australian Government Department of Veterans’ Affairs website. Sharon’s recipe is spot on, except the original recipe calls for 1 cup coconut. NOTE: The Australian Tablespoon is actually about 1 teaspoon larger than the US Tablespoon; 1 (US) Tablespoon PLUS 1 (US) teaspoon is equal to 1 (Australian) Tablespoon. Adjust teaspoon measurements, using just slightly rounded teaspoons (or fractions of teaspoon) in Australian recipes; unless it is noted that measurements have been converted to US measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I'm American but lived in Australia for a few years and am married to an Aussie. He gave this 2 thumbs up. The only adjustment I made is reducing the cooking time as he likes his biscuits chewy. I cooked them around 9 minutes and allowed them to cool on the cookie sheet for several minute until set then continued to cool on a rack. This was very similar to a recipe featured in the Sydney Morning Herald on ANZAC day this year. Thanks for making the hubby happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I've made these a number of times now- mainly with children in the classroom or at home. This is a solid recipe and very easy to make with kids. Great tactile experience if you just let everyobody get their hands into it. I've found that making these thicker leadsto a finished product that stays soft, while thinner gives you teething quality biscuits after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious cookies!!! Though they do not taste quite as amazing as our Aussie friends made a while ago, these are still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Thank you for sharing your Bikkie recipe. I once had this recipe from an Assie friend and had since lost it. He always added golden rasins to his as well. Love them! Easy to make and easier to dissapear! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Skinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States