Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My Australian friend also add nuts and dried fruits to his biscuits. His version is really really good. One day he brought me one with golden raisins, walnuts, dried apricots and dried cranberries...yumo! I also added more of the golden syrup to the "batter" to help hold the ingredients together. The addition of the fruit and nuts makes more syrup necessary. He also reminded me that allowing the biscuits to cool on the pan for a few minutes is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
We have a bakery in town that makes Anzac cookies and I have been looking for a recipe. This one is pretty close. The only changes that I made was adding ground walnuts and adjusting the bake time. I found that 12 mins. was perfect. The first batch was13 mins. and the edges were almost burnt. I used a small ice cream/cookie scoop and since the cookies really spread, I only put 8 on each baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I am not sure why everyone says these are really good and rates them a 4*. I'm giving it a 5* because I did find them really good. Easy to put together. Easy to eat one and then another and then another! :) I rolled mine into little balls and flattend with a fork to ensure uniform consistancy. They do spread a little so allow for this when putting on the cookie sheet. Watch your time as well. Mine were a nice toasty brown colour after only 13 minutes. Set your timer for 10 and just for a quick check. I'd also suggest doubling the recipe to save you having to make a second batch when your first one is gone in 30 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
As I live in the US, I could not find golden syrup. I made a batch of Anzac bikkies using light corn syrup (and margarine instead of butter) and another batch using maple syrup (and again margarine). The corn syrup biscuits took much shorter time to cook and had a much better flavor. The maple syrup ones took a lot longer to cook and did not taste as good as the corn syrup batch, however they looked nicer since they didn't spread out over the whole pan. If you have to substitute golden syrup, use corn syrup and reduce your baking time. I also understand that using real butter makes the cookies crispier. My family likes them chewy so I use margarine. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I send care packages of these yummy treats to my nieces and nephews studying at University...they RAVE about these biscuits! ANZAC Bikkies became a favorite of mine when I was an exchange student in Australia, and this recipe is exactly the same as the bikkies my host moms baked. It's worth the effort to order Lyle's Golden Syrup online just for making ANZAC Biscuits I! :) Thank you, Sharon, for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fantastic snack! Did no changes, great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great little cookie!! It was fast, and I made it a bit healthier by reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup and because I frefer a chewier cookie, I increased the water to 4 Tablespoons. This is going to be my alltimefamily favorite for a long time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
A very easy cookie!! If you follow the direction your cookies will turn out.. I added cinnamon and a little vanilla to the mix. The cookie dough is very dry I added 2-3 extra teaspoons of water to the mixture it worked nicely becareful it makes the dough very sticky cause of all the honey. Its a great treat they seemed to be the healthiest cookie, not very much sugar more honey. its a fun cookie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I've been baking anzac cookies for 20 yrs off this recipe and it's fantasic, however I have tweeked it a little. I'm not a huge fan of coconut so I only use 1/2 a cup and I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of a full cup of white sugar. The brown sugar gives it a much nicer taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have tried a few different Anzac biscuit recipes, and this one has the best balanced list of ingredients of all. The only downside is that the indicated cooking time will give very tough, brittle cookies. Some people like that, but we prefer chewie ones. I only baked mine for 15 minutes and they came out perfectly. They didn't spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States