Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe is amazing ! Just a tip... The first time I made this recipe I found the dough to still be dry after adding the wet mix, so I suggest to make a little whole in the middle of the dry ingredient bowl then placing the wet mixture in. I also baked them for 10-15 minutes and it seemed to be just perfect ! Happy Baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have just made these biscuits and they are a big hit.. Very yummy. My son said they would be even better with chocolate chips. Shall try next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I have a recipe from an Aussie native, her recipe calls for 1 cup coconut and it needs to be UNsweetened for it to be genuine. She also bakes her cookies at 300* not 350, if you're dealing with dry cookies. They're supposed to crunchy like a granola bar hence why they were mailed to soldiers in the early 1900's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov_2_cook&eat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
They were awesome! I put half the sugar in and it was perfect. And instead of using a saucepan to heat everything up I just used the microwaved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
For a chewy anzac, substitute the white sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar & up the golden syrup to 2 or 3 tablespoons & cut the water to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Tasty! I cut back the baking time to 15 mins. (dough size of walnut or slightly larger.) They were still crispy and not overcooked. For a chewy cookie, I would reduce even further to 13 mins. I found golden syrup on Amazon. It would probably be fine to use corn syrup or maybe even honey, though latter would alter the taste, and either would make them less authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Redway, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I have these and they are SO GOOD. Now when my box of Anzac's Biscuits are gone, I can make them and enjoy them anytime I want. So good and not many calories--really good for you. Great on Fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The first time I made these I was skeptical on how they'd turn out because the batter is very dry and falls apart, but the cookies turned out great. A friend of mine suggesting adding more butter and syrup to make the consistency of the batter easier to work with, DON'T DO THIS! I added just a tiny bit extra syrup than the recipe called for and my cookies turned out FLAT and inedible!! So, I threw out that batter and followed what the recipe called for and made perfect "biscuits" again :-) Don't be put off by the consistency of the batter! They don't taste half bad either, I made them for my daughters girl scout troop, cookies aren't my thing, but if they were, I'd give it 5 stars :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I did used this recipe for Culture Day with my daughter's Daisy Troop. Everyone Loved them! This is a very quick and easy recipe anyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My 9 year old Grandson and I made these biscuits (cookies) for a class presentation on Australia. We use unsweetened coconut and added a 1/4 teaspoon salt. If your dough is crumbly, just add more water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until the dough holds together. We used a small cookie scoop (about 1-1/2” across) and flattened the biscuits a bit. After baking they came out about 3 inches across. Our biscuits were smaller, so we baked them 10 minutes @ 350F. They came out crispy but a bit tough and chewy in the middle. After they cooled for half an hour, they crisped up more. We also found them a bit greasy; next time we’ll try 1/3 cup butter and add 1/4 cup more flour, for a softer cookie (personal preference). UPDATE: I used 1 cup coconut, 1-1/4 cup flour, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/3 cup butter, on my second attempt; and baked them @300F, 13 minutes. They were softer, as I had hoped. Either way the flavor of these biscuit is great A Google search found the original recipe on the Australian Government Department of Veterans’ Affairs website. Sharon’s recipe is spot on, except the original recipe calls for 1 cup coconut. NOTE: The Australian Tablespoon is actually about 1 teaspoon larger than the US Tablespoon; 1 (US) Tablespoon PLUS 1 (US) teaspoon is equal to 1 (Australian) Tablespoon. Adjust teaspoon measurements, using just slightly rounded teaspoons (or fractions of teaspoon) in Australian recipes; unless it is noted that measurements have been converted to US measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States