Any Flavor Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
A lot of people are having trouble with candy recipes.I discovered a few years ago that candy recipes involving a thermometer do not work unless you use PURE CANE SUGAR.If you read the labels on most store brands they list "other sugars", this is sugar beet sugar. It is chemically different from cane sugar and has different boiling points.( remember chemistry class?) The different stages of candy making soft ball, hard crack ,etc. were created for cane sugar.Beet sugar had not been discovered yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
AMAZING! Great recipe and definately fun to make. When pulling it and making the pieces, you will probably need more than two people. My husband had to run next door to grab the neighbors to help. Wonderful smooth texture, just like salt water taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Super easy and tasty. My kids and I make this all the time. A huge hit at birthday parties, I do the cooking in advance, then let the kids pull it after it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this with flavor extract and food coloring instead of the drink mix. If you choose to do that, cook it until 256 degrees so it won't be too soft. Also, I found that it helps to wait until the taffy's pretty cool to try stretching it. I made peppermint, banana, maple, and coconut--all wonderful! My husband said the banana was just like laffy taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This turned out really well--especially for being my first try making candy. I too didn't have kool-ade, so I used jello (I cooked the jello with the sugar). It lacked flavor, but I am currently making it again, but with kool-ade to see if we can't get some grape taffy. The kids loved helping out with streching it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
AWESOME!!! I made two batches. The first one turned out a little hard, so I tried to figure out a way to make it a little softer. I used a little more corn syrup and and starch to try and soften it up. I also only streched until it turned white. Another hint for making it cool faster is sticking and buttered icepack on top and another on the bottom. Don't leave it on too long, or else the candy will harden and you can't strech it. Still makes a good hard candy too. (Picking it out of the pot, ;) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I used the new tangerine flavor Koolaid. The resulting taffy was bland until I added 1/2 teaspoon of food grade citric acid. Now it really has some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Turned out great with cherry koolaid. Be sure to use a LOT of butter when pulling. I used half of the recipe and got 63 peices of taffy...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Loved it! I let the temp go to 260 degrees, just a little bit under the hardball stage (anything lower and it would have been to soft). Used a metal cookie sheet with high sides. My flavors: grape/lemonade koolaide, orange koolaide, and peppermint extract. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I think there are two keys to this recipe. Temperature and stretching. Candy takes patience. I let it reach 255 degrees before removing from heat. I didn't want it too soft or to hard. I used two large buttered metal cookie sheets. Split the mixture between the two. I waited only until the candy was cool enough to touch (maybe 5 minutes) then i started stretching. I made cherry and the candy went from a dark red to a light pink by the time I was done stretching. I don't think it would have turned out nearly as good had I not stretched it so much. Also, make sure you have two people to stretch. By the time I got to the second pan it was already setting up. It still worked but was much harder on my arms! I may add two kool aid packets next time. My husband loves it. Also, I did NOT butter my hands before stretching. There was no need. It only stuck to itself. There was enough butter from the pan, I guess. I didn't want the candy to be butter flavored or coated in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States