Any Flavor Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
AMAZING! Great recipe and definately fun to make. When pulling it and making the pieces, you will probably need more than two people. My husband had to run next door to grab the neighbors to help. Wonderful smooth texture, just like salt water taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I made this twice hoping it would be better the second time around....It was awful....A sticky gooey mess....We had a good laugh over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Super easy and tasty. My kids and I make this all the time. A huge hit at birthday parties, I do the cooking in advance, then let the kids pull it after it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
A lot of people are having trouble with candy recipes.I discovered a few years ago that candy recipes involving a thermometer do not work unless you use PURE CANE SUGAR.If you read the labels on most store brands they list "other sugars", this is sugar beet sugar. It is chemically different from cane sugar and has different boiling points.( remember chemistry class?) The different stages of candy making soft ball, hard crack ,etc. were created for cane sugar.Beet sugar had not been discovered yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I used this recipe however I had absolutly no koolaid or soft drink flavoring, but I did have jello. My first batch I used 1 sm. box of peach jello powder it was about 1/2c. I reduced the sugar by that amount. It came out perfect but little flavor. The second batch I used 2 boxes of Apricot jello, and also reduced the sugar by that amount. It was absolutly wonderful. There are so many different flavors for jello, you really must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this with flavor extract and food coloring instead of the drink mix. If you choose to do that, cook it until 256 degrees so it won't be too soft. Also, I found that it helps to wait until the taffy's pretty cool to try stretching it. I made peppermint, banana, maple, and coconut--all wonderful! My husband said the banana was just like laffy taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This turned out really well--especially for being my first try making candy. I too didn't have kool-ade, so I used jello (I cooked the jello with the sugar). It lacked flavor, but I am currently making it again, but with kool-ade to see if we can't get some grape taffy. The kids loved helping out with streching it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Good Stuff, easy and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosiebee
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I tried making this taffy two times. The first time, I got impatient(because I used a smaller pot) and poured it out too soon. The second time, I used a large pot and poured it out exactly at 250. I thought it would be okay, but it was much too hard. Perhaps this is because I used extract instead of KoolAde mix. Was it too hard because I added the extract and coloring after It had cooled? Usually, hard taffy doesn't stop me, but I'm afraid I might pull out my braces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiebee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
AWESOME!!! I made two batches. The first one turned out a little hard, so I tried to figure out a way to make it a little softer. I used a little more corn syrup and and starch to try and soften it up. I also only streched until it turned white. Another hint for making it cool faster is sticking and buttered icepack on top and another on the bottom. Don't leave it on too long, or else the candy will harden and you can't strech it. Still makes a good hard candy too. (Picking it out of the pot, ;) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States