Any Flavor Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This recipe did not work for me...It was gooey and WAY too sweet =( I would advise you not to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Turned out great with cherry koolaid. Be sure to use a LOT of butter when pulling. I used half of the recipe and got 63 peices of taffy...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was nothing like taffy! After following steps 1-2, I buttered a baking sheet and poured the liquid taffy onto it, let it sit for about half an hour and finally it turned as solid as rock! I am SO glad it didn't ruin my baking sheet. It didn't even have a good favor! I hope it works next time I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The texture and consistency of the taffy was great! However, we put half on a metal cookie sheet to cool and half in a glass 9x13, and the half on the metal cookie sheet didn't work at all. The half in glass was beautiful. Also, we need to make this again to give it a fair review as the flavor was terrible using Strawberry Kool-aid! I am giving it 4 stars because the taffy worked wonderfully (cooled in glass) and I am sure with better flavoring it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Now I know where the name laffy taffy came from! I had a hard time getting any of our burners to heat the mixture over 225 degrees so I had to partially cover the mixture. We took it out right when the thermometer hit 250 and added 2 packs of grape kool aid. We let it cool, and it was still very soft. My kids and I butter our hands and tried to "pull" the taffy, but it wasn't exactly what we had in mind. It was very sticky and even after 30 minutes of pulling it never really firmed up. We ended up having to put this on wax paper in big globs, and smash it down like laffy taffy. We had a blast making this, and even though it was very messy and didn't turn out like we had hoped for, the flavor was good and it was a lot of fun to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I used the new tangerine flavor Koolaid. The resulting taffy was bland until I added 1/2 teaspoon of food grade citric acid. Now it really has some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
AWESOME!!! I made two batches. The first one turned out a little hard, so I tried to figure out a way to make it a little softer. I used a little more corn syrup and and starch to try and soften it up. I also only streched until it turned white. Another hint for making it cool faster is sticking and buttered icepack on top and another on the bottom. Don't leave it on too long, or else the candy will harden and you can't strech it. Still makes a good hard candy too. (Picking it out of the pot, ;) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosiebee
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I tried making this taffy two times. The first time, I got impatient(because I used a smaller pot) and poured it out too soon. The second time, I used a large pot and poured it out exactly at 250. I thought it would be okay, but it was much too hard. Perhaps this is because I used extract instead of KoolAde mix. Was it too hard because I added the extract and coloring after It had cooled? Usually, hard taffy doesn't stop me, but I'm afraid I might pull out my braces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiebee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Good Stuff, easy and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This turned out really well--especially for being my first try making candy. I too didn't have kool-ade, so I used jello (I cooked the jello with the sugar). It lacked flavor, but I am currently making it again, but with kool-ade to see if we can't get some grape taffy. The kids loved helping out with streching it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States