Ants on a Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I make this all the time. I never knew there was a recipe for it. Unlike other commenters I love this mix of flavors. It *is* messy, but I have always enjoyed a reason to lick peanut butter of my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I ate these as a child, made them for my (now grown) kids, and now for my almost 2 year old granddaughter. It's relatively healthy and she likes eating the 'ants' first then nibbles the celery. Since she is still young and getting new teeth, I pull the strings off the celery before adding the peanut butter. I don't understand why people have to be rude in their comments. There are many new and inexperienced cooks that may never have heard of the simpler recipes before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I LOVE these. Have been eating them since I was a kid. A twist on this is red ants on a snow covered log. Instead of raisins, use craisins. Instead of peanut butter, use cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The creamed peanut confection paired with the dried grapes lent a sweet and savory friendship to the crisped celery stalk. The water from the celery helped to lubricate the mouth and aid in the dismissal of the sticky peanut butter. I recommend the creamed peanut butter over the chunk variety in this particular scenario. (The celery and raisins gave enough texture) This is a well balanced, easy, fun, cost-effective, and relatively nutritious snack. It would be ideal for hors d'oeuvre and intoxicated midnight-munchies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Replace raisins with chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Good way to get kids to eat celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. It is SO delicious, and SO good for you! I eat a log almost every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe but I substituted jelly for the raisins and bread for the celery!! My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Fun, a great snack for grandchildren or for anyone wanting a sweet snack with a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
One of my favorite snacks when I was a kid! I sometimes use chocolate covered raisins when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States