Ants on a Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is simple and a great way to get fruit & veggie into kiddies! Try all sorts of dried fruits once they enjoy the initial "ants" idea. Another variation....those tubs of different flavored, spreadable cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great, classic recipe!! So much better for kids than most snacks.A few said it was messy but what's a little mess if you can get the kids to eat healthy ?You could always make it for them and not have the mess but I think it is better for the kids to make their own and have the accomplishment of making it. They also seem to eat anything better if they help make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Peanut butter and nuts are not allowed in our school system, but perhaps I will have the kids try this with Cheez Whiz?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I do an 'adult' version of this for my lunches. I mix the raisins/dried cranberries with the peanut butter in a to-go cup and use it as dip for my celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champion, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My kids had fun making this! I peeled the celery with a peeler to avoid any strings stuck in the kids throats....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Kids don't car for raisins so I made these without. Great snack that reminds me of my childhood. My kids licked the pb out and I ate the celery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
of course a classic from childhood and my favorite diet snack, veggies protein and just a bit of sweetness to keep you from heading for the ice cream in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Perfect, fun and easy! This is a great healthy treat for all. The kids love it. I also vary this by using cream cheese and cranberries. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I grew up with this one, except we use bananas instead of celery. Both varieties remain favorite snacks of mine, as an adult! My preschool teacher also taught us how to make hot dog "dinosaurs." Ruffled potato chips or hamburger dill chip pickles make the fins on the stegosaurus' back (inserted into cuts along the side made by an adult).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
My kids didn't really care for this unfortunately...I had a plate of licked celery returned to me in the kitchen! You can't blame a mother for trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States