Antojitos Minis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
These are great! I make very small circles out of the tortillas and put them in a mini muffin pan. (Sprinkle with a little water and heat for a few seconds in the microwave to make them more pliable.) Any combination of ingredients works great in these "tarts". I add refried beans, chopped jalapenos and loads of cheese. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
These were excellent. I servered them to my family for dinner and they were such a hit! Some of the kids like soft tacos, some of them like crunchy and they met both qualifications. I sprayed the muffin tins with non-stick spray, warmed the tortillas for 10 seconds in the microwave, and used a juice glass to push them down into the muffin tins. I browned up 2lbs of chuck with taco seasonings and spooned some of it into each tortilla cup. For the kids I only sprinkled on some bagged, pre-shredded mexican blend cheese, but for the grown-ups I spooned on some black beans, chopped green onions and salsa. They looked great on the table, very special without a lot of fuss. What a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I thought these would turn out like mini-tostadas, but they were not like them at all. The tortillas stay pretty soft even adding beans and chili powder, I thought the taste was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
These were great! I cut the tortillas into 4" circles, which made it so they went up the sides of the muffin cups to make a tartlet shell. I baked the tortillas first to make them crunchy. Then I added the filling. To the filling recipe, I added a couple of links of cooked, chopped Chorizo sausage - delish! I also drained the salsa before adding it, and I had no problems with the filling being soggy. The melted cheese is what holds everything together. I added some extra black beans and omitted the chili powder, as the chorizo gave it an extra kick. These got rave reviews from my guests & I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
WOW! Had none left it was THAT good. I just mixed all the ingrediants including cheese in a bowl, spooned into the tortillas and then topped with more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These are one of the best items I have ever made. They flew of the platter. The fajita shells taste like pastry shells when baked. I did not use onions and served with salsa and sour cream on the side. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Very simple and very good. I am making it again tonight, and will try to get a picture or two to post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I have to admit that I was a little skeptical of this recipe at first. It just seemed so simple and I thought there was no way they could be as good as everyone said. Boy was I wrong!!! They were wonderful! Every batch was gone immediately and I kid you not, everyone said it was their favorite appetizer ever. I did add a little bean dip on the bottom, then I added the mixture, topped that w/ a little diced tomato and them a little more cheese. I also made Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce to go w/ them and they went together perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This is an amazing recipe! I had a "mexican night" dinner party and they were gone in a flash...I took advise of others and went really light on the salsa. I also added corn to make it more colorful. These would also make great veggie burritos. I put salsa and sour cream on the side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I made these for a football party...they were a huge hit. Thanks for a great appetizer recipe! And it was easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Totchos Libre

Baked appetizer with potato nuggets, ground beef, cheese and lots of delicious to

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States