Antojitos Minis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I've now made this recipe three times and it gets better every time! I've given up on the hassle of the flour tortillas. I couldn't get them to stay in the muffin tins and they were soggy even when I put them in the oven for a few minutes, so I'm now using the premade filo shells, which cuts preparation time significantly. They are light, flaky and crispy and make for a small appetizer that you can easily pop in your mouth. I also used chorizo sausage per an earlier suggestion. It really is a must to spice up the recipe a bit. Finally, I top each one with a little sour cream. They are a huge hit with my famiily -- even my picky 11-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
These were ok... good ingredients and a decent vegetarian snack but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Very good! I recommend that you prebake your tortillas (in the muffin pan) atleast 4-5 min. prior to adding fillings. Will give them a crunchier chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BUSYBEE25
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I really liked the idea of these in the muffin tins, as I'm a huge fan of individual nachos vs. piles of chips. I used Chipotle Refried Beans, but wouldn't do that again. Just made up the rest: Mexican Blend Cheese, green onions, tomatoes, then garnish with sour cream, avacado, and salsa once out of oven. Putting the tortilla in the muffin tin can be a little tricky, especially if you are using very authentic corn tortillas (they are kind of springy and don't want to stay in the cup). I really liked the idea of crisping them a bit before loading them up, as one reviewer suggested, but I wasn't able to do that because I couldn't weight down the rounds into the tin. I also took another reviewers advice to use a coffee mug as a cutting guide. It worked really easily -- although next time I'll opt for a bigger mug. My tortillas went right up to the edge of the muffin cups, but would be nice to have a little overhang that would get really crisp. I baked up the scraps of tortillas with some cooking spray and sea salt -- about 10 minutes on 350 -- to have some additional chips on the side. Not pretty, but tasty and avoids waste. Pictures don't really do this justice. If you and your guests like Mexican food, these will make you drool just looking at them. Will try again soon with other combinations. Easy to scale the recipe up or down to fulfill a craving. Might also try some tostada-like antojitos in my muffin-topper pans. More of an entree, but might also be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were ok- not a big stand-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used mini-muffin tins and added some Mexican spiced chicken. They were practically inhaled off the plate. If you warm the tortillas in saran after cutting them out with a bisquit cutter and use Pam on the tins, you can put anything in the "crust" that you like. I agree with another reviewer that the Pampered Chef tool for making mini muffins works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
These are really good. I used a coffee cup to guide me as I cut the flour tortillas and this worked perfectly. I baked the tortilla shells for a few minutes prior to filling them with the mixture. I simplified them by adding only black beans, cheese, and chopped jalapenos to the tortillas as they baked. After they came out, hubby and I added guacamole, sour cream, and salsa to our liking. Hubby loved them and has asked for them several times since I first made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I didn't really know what to expect when I made these, but they are just great! I used organic black beans from Trader Joes--they are pretty low on sodium for being canned. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingchicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is always a hit when I have a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I baked the shells first for a little more crunch. I filled them with cheese and a combination of taco meat, salsa and chilis, then topped again with cheese. I put sour cream on the table to add when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZBURAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States