Antojitos Minis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are AWESOME and extraordinarily versatile. Here's and assortment of tips. TORTILLAS: Sprayed muffin tins with pam. Like another reviewer, I didn't bother taking the time to cut out circles and instead cut the tortillas into 4 triangles to avoid having scrap leftovers. This works perfectly because you can pull them out easily by the hangover corners when they're done, which are left golden and crispy, and it adds texture. If you have trouble getting them to sit right in the tin without popping out, hold them over steaming water for a minute or two allows them to get stretchy and they'll sit fine. (They dry back out in the oven anyway). With one of the batches, I baked the tortillas for 5 minutes, added filling, and then baked again, but I only it found it wasted more time to bake-fill-bake rather than fill-and-bake. There wasn't much difference, both ways were delicious! As for the FILLING: do anything! I've made vegetarian types with refried or whole black beans. I've also used ground taco-flavored beef, using a heaping teaspoon per serving. Topped it with salsa or simply veggies. Olives, onions, tomatoes, bell peppers, celery, jalapenos, corn, salsa: any combination that's available is great. anything that needs to be used I have left over in the fridge- works for me! Often heap some sour cream in there to be baked with it if the filling is very spicy. Use shredded CHEESE sparingly! The more shredded cheese you use on top, the soggier they get. Otherwise Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I recently served this dish for a pool party and everyone raved! I used a measuring cup (1 cup) to make the little circles then used regualar scissors (only used for in the kitchen) to cut out the circles and it worked great. I really stuffed the circles into the muffin circles and it worked pretty well. I'm making this recipe tonight again for a girls-only get together! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Very tasty!! First, we tried the filling without adding the cheese into the mixture, and only on top, but that didn't work well. The cheese is needed in the mix to bind everything together while baking. The frustrating part was how to cut the tortillas so they will fit perfectly into the cupcake pan. I finally just cut them into triangles, and that worked OK. The first batch, I added the salsa into the mix, but that made it too watery; so in the second batch, I only added some tobasco sauce to make it a bit spicy, then served the salsa on the side. And everyone liked that better. Easy to make, and even with greasing the pan, some of the tortilla cups still stuck to the pan because of the melted cheese, but this is minor compared to the taste. Will probably make again, and we liked how you can change the filling (more black beans, more veggies, and less cheese), and still it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
These will definitely be on my buffet table during my Christmas open house! For ease in making, I used wonton wrappers and spring rolls wrappers. Great presentation and wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
OMG- found this recipe yesterday and made it last night for a party today. thanks to everyone for all the tips! Combined tips that helped: use a cup or cookie cutter to cut out mini muffin size circles, warm circles in microwave to make them more pliable, mix all ingrediants into a bowl and spoon into cups. I did find that I only had to spray the tin once and they fell out fine from then on. Also, they reheated fine in the oven this morning. I put these out at 8am, it is now 9am and there are 3 left! Not one person has said they don't like them! They are ridiculously good and oh-so-easy to make. Kudos to they're creator! Any weightwatchers members out there- the ingrediants that I used were 2 for 1pt, 4 for 2pts, and 6 for 3pts. And they are SO worth the 3 points! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I was a little bit suspicious when I started making these but they are incredible -- they made my main course seem very bland. The recipe doesn't tell you to let them cool when they are out of the oven, but you should add 10 minutes to the cooling so that they stick together when you pull them out (pulling out with a butter knife worked well for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Had these for our superbowl party, they were a big hit. I used the small muffin trays and made the tortillas smaller. I took all of the ingredents and combined them together in a bowl and let them set in the refrig overnight, that way when we were ready the next day I just spooned the whole mixture into the tortilla cups and threw them in the oven. Great time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
These are good and easy to make. Warm the tortillas about 10 seconds in the microwave to soften them and cut out the circles with a round cookie or biscuit cutter. You will still have to fold one side a little to fit it in the mini muffin tins. I just added a few of the ingredients, what I had on hand. Don't add too much salsa or they will be soggy and leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very good recipe. I followed the suggestions of others and heated the tortillas first. I then used a glass that was slightly larger than the muffin tin and used is at a guide to cut the tortillas to size. I layered my cheese then refried beans, seasoned beef, red pepper, tomato and olive. By making the tortillas slightly larger, they formed cups that held the fillings in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
These are out of this world. Will be making these often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States