Antojitos Minis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These were so good, and the funny thing is everyone thought they were potato skins. Excellent appetizer and so great because you you fill them with whatever suits your preference. I definitely think you need to make a lot of them for a party, because they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
WOW! I gave this recipe 5 stars for both flavor and versatility. I just made these for lunch today (trying to use up some leftover steak, red peppers, beans...) for myself and my 3 year old, and she said 'MmmMmmMmm' the whole time we were eating them (so did I, actually ;-). These would be perfect to make WITH your little one, and she will be happily helping me next time. I have metal measuring cups - used the 1c,turned upside down, pressed really hard on the warmed tortillas, and popped out the circles (I used 2 tortillas for the two of us). Next time, I will simply prep the ingredients ahead of time to make it easier and let her help me stuff them. After they were cooked, I let them sit for about 5 mins to cool, covered with sour cream, salsa - YUM! I did not precook the cups before filling them (some others suggested to do so), and they were not soggy at all. Really, really perfect for the little hands to pick up and eat. These would be great appetizers, and my family is sure to see them at get-togethers, but I will make them more often as a little meal for my daughter! I can't say 'Yum' enough - thanks for the great post and great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
These were great. Followed the tip about mixing everything together and then spooning into the cups. It was a snap. Also added some fresh sliced jalapeno to the tops for the adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
These were delicious. It is nice because you can be creative with the toppings to suit all of your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is not only easy to make, but delicious and a beautiful tray of appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
OMG- found this recipe yesterday and made it last night for a party today. thanks to everyone for all the tips! Combined tips that helped: use a cup or cookie cutter to cut out mini muffin size circles, warm circles in microwave to make them more pliable, mix all ingrediants into a bowl and spoon into cups. I did find that I only had to spray the tin once and they fell out fine from then on. Also, they reheated fine in the oven this morning. I put these out at 8am, it is now 9am and there are 3 left! Not one person has said they don't like them! They are ridiculously good and oh-so-easy to make. Kudos to they're creator! Any weightwatchers members out there- the ingrediants that I used were 2 for 1pt, 4 for 2pts, and 6 for 3pts. And they are SO worth the 3 points! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
These were great. A little messy to make but use the beans to weight down the tortillas! With a side of sour cream these were a huge hit as an addition to taco night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this once for a party, and my friends ask me to bring it every single time we have a get together now! I added taco seasoned beef to half, and chicken to the rest. I put out containers of salsa, guacamole, and sour cream to top. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are AWESOME and extraordinarily versatile. Here's and assortment of tips. TORTILLAS: Sprayed muffin tins with pam. Like another reviewer, I didn't bother taking the time to cut out circles and instead cut the tortillas into 4 triangles to avoid having scrap leftovers. This works perfectly because you can pull them out easily by the hangover corners when they're done, which are left golden and crispy, and it adds texture. If you have trouble getting them to sit right in the tin without popping out, hold them over steaming water for a minute or two allows them to get stretchy and they'll sit fine. (They dry back out in the oven anyway). With one of the batches, I baked the tortillas for 5 minutes, added filling, and then baked again, but I only it found it wasted more time to bake-fill-bake rather than fill-and-bake. There wasn't much difference, both ways were delicious! As for the FILLING: do anything! I've made vegetarian types with refried or whole black beans. I've also used ground taco-flavored beef, using a heaping teaspoon per serving. Topped it with salsa or simply veggies. Olives, onions, tomatoes, bell peppers, celery, jalapenos, corn, salsa: any combination that's available is great. anything that needs to be used I have left over in the fridge- works for me! Often heap some sour cream in there to be baked with it if the filling is very spicy. Use shredded CHEESE sparingly! The more shredded cheese you use on top, the soggier they get. Otherwise Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is so easy and so delicious! I used fillo shells (pre-baked) and stuffed them with the beans, chili powder, green onion, rotel instead of tomato, all the cheeses, salsa and served with sour cream and guacamole. I made 50 of these for a party and they were gone in a flash! Several people asked for the recipe and my family requests it all the time. You can vary these to your taste. Super easy to make and a crowd pleaser!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Totchos Libre

Baked appetizer with potato nuggets, ground beef, cheese and lots of delicious to

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States