Antoinette's Strawberry Freeze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
My husband is the biggest ice cream fanatic i know, and he loved this. I guess it's a good, somewhat healthier substitute. Personally, I didn't care for it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I used frozen mixed berries instead of just strawberries and did have a little trouble getting the cream cheese to blend evenly with the fruit mixture. However, it still turned out great and everybody loved it. I will definitely make this many more times, especially when I have company over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Made this the other night, had some tonight, and it is delicious. Made half of the recipe and used an 8 by 8-inch glass dish. (If anyone wants to know, the drained weight of 1/2 of a 20-oz. can of Dole pineapple is 5-1/2 oz.) I used fresh (slightly sweetened) strawberries. The pineapple and banana became kind of mushy, so next time I will try pineapple tidbits and only coarsely chunk the banana for a better texture. Also, I would add the fruits directly to the creamed mixture, gently mix this, and then gently fold in the whipped topping (one less dirty bowl). DO add some slivered almonds or chopped pecans over the top. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Tasty. I used real whipped cream. Definitely divide into several small dishes before freezing, unless you will be serving a crowd. That way you will not have to keep thawing and refreezing the whole thing each time you want some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belen, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is the classic recipe, Champagne Salad. It has been served for years across the country by that name. Queengoddessnance, you should be aware of plagerism laws...it's quite unlikely you'd create a time honored masterpiece, right down to the exact measurement!(The salad has stood generations of proclaim....two thumbs up...the cool whip is to be gently folded in...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
It really does taste like banana split without chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This was very good, but it melted fast. The good news is it re-freezes beautifully and is just as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Great recipe!! I froze it in parfait glasses and served garnished with a strawberry & fresh mint. Next time I will try using light cream chees & cool whip. I might also try adding more banana and using fresh strawberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
REFRESHING! We really loved this dessert! Easy to make and has a wonderful, light & fluffy texture. The fact that it's frozen makes it a lot like ice cream (except better)! Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! I used 2 bread loaf pans and 2 large custard cups (didn't have enough for a 3rd loaf pan). Definitely a repeat! A nice Spring-Summer dessert for those warm evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States