Antipasto Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made these yesterday for a bridal shower I was throwing and they were the hit of all the food! OK - I followed the recipe with the changes that were suggested in many of the posts. So what I did: 1. I precooked the bottom layer of crescent rolls about 7-8 minutes at 375. I brushed them with a thin layer of basil pesto before baking. 2. I drained and dried the roasted peppers and the honey roasted ham between layers of paper towels for a good 20 minutes, changing out the paper towels a couple of times. (next time I wlll do this in advance -Even a day a head of time if I am busy and stick them in a tupperware until use) 3. Next - I first layered provolone so that there was a layer of cheese between and of the foods that could potentially make it soggy. So provolone, roasted peppers, salami, honey roasted ham, muenster (didn't have swiss), garlic salt, pepperoni, egg mixture. I just used about 4 eggs per pan. Then final layer of crecsent rolls. I didn't have enough eggs to do a final egg wash on top and it was totally fine. I baked at 375 for 20 minutes with foil, then 20-25 mins without. (just watch them at the end). I let them settle and cool - do not cover with foil while cooling! Cut them into squares. Served! Huge hit! Today a day later they are still so good warmed up and eaten for snacks! I will make them often. It is a little pricey as far as ingredients so truth is I will only make them for my own parties :) Or only very special potlucks. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
It's the one recipe (although a bit pricey) that I always return to when there's an event at work, church or even when I want to spoil hubby a little bit! Followed the first reviewer's comments and they always turn out! One thing we definitely change is the swiss cheese for pepper jack. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I like these better after they had cooled and been refrigerated over night. I was prepping for a party and totally forgot to add the red peppers but even still they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent! Meant to substitute bruschetta for peppers, but ended up forgetting both. Better than pizza and so, so easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made these for Christmas Eve this year, and they were THE HIT of the night! They can be served hot or room temp and they are fabulous either way (my mom even mentioned that she ate one cold and it was still delicious). It is a must to drain and pat dry the peppers, and I diced them (then patted dry again) to make it easier to spread evenly. All I did differently was pre-bake the bottom layer, use one extra egg, and a TINY bit of egg wash (one egg, skim milk) on top. I am making them again for my New Year's Eve party, and I may add a little sun-dried tomato pesto to the bottom layer of crescent rolls when I pre-bake it. Bottom line- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this tonight for family..excellent. I did take other reviewers suggestions and drained the peppers well. This will be my go to appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I am going to start off by saying that these are totally not my taste and I did not eat even one of them. However, I am giving this recipe 5 stars because they are very easy to make and are a huge hit at every party I bring them too. There are never any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I added a red sauce, and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made this for a get together with friends. I'm not a big red pepper fan so I substituted it with fresh tomato. I slices it thin and let the slices sit in a few paper towels so their is not too much liquid. Friends went nuts for it. They loved it, and they keep asking me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These were a great appetizer and very easy! Loved that they taste great warm or cold...so as they age thru a party...they're still excellent! Pre-bake the bottom crescent layer 6-8 min's...drain your peppers on paper towels...not soggy at all! Gets your taste buds thinking about different combinations...roast beef, jack cheese, green chiles...simple ham n cheese...a layer of pizza sauce, pepperoni, sausage, olives...tons of variations to try! Thanks for a great place to start!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States