Antipasto Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made these for Christmas Eve this year, and they were THE HIT of the night! They can be served hot or room temp and they are fabulous either way (my mom even mentioned that she ate one cold and it was still delicious). It is a must to drain and pat dry the peppers, and I diced them (then patted dry again) to make it easier to spread evenly. All I did differently was pre-bake the bottom layer, use one extra egg, and a TINY bit of egg wash (one egg, skim milk) on top. I am making them again for my New Year's Eve party, and I may add a little sun-dried tomato pesto to the bottom layer of crescent rolls when I pre-bake it. Bottom line- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this tonight for family..excellent. I did take other reviewers suggestions and drained the peppers well. This will be my go to appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I am going to start off by saying that these are totally not my taste and I did not eat even one of them. However, I am giving this recipe 5 stars because they are very easy to make and are a huge hit at every party I bring them too. There are never any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I added a red sauce, and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made this for a get together with friends. I'm not a big red pepper fan so I substituted it with fresh tomato. I slices it thin and let the slices sit in a few paper towels so their is not too much liquid. Friends went nuts for it. They loved it, and they keep asking me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These were a great appetizer and very easy! Loved that they taste great warm or cold...so as they age thru a party...they're still excellent! Pre-bake the bottom crescent layer 6-8 min's...drain your peppers on paper towels...not soggy at all! Gets your taste buds thinking about different combinations...roast beef, jack cheese, green chiles...simple ham n cheese...a layer of pizza sauce, pepperoni, sausage, olives...tons of variations to try! Thanks for a great place to start!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made a few changes after reading some reviews. I spread some Sun Dried Tomato Pesto on the bottom dough and baked it for six minutes. I also diced the peppers and dried everything between paper towels. Changed the order to Provolone, Ham, Salami, Pepperoni and Swiss. This was awesome. It all went during the first half of the Football game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I have been making these for years and years - originally was given the recipe by my next-door neighbor - and frankly am baffled by the negative reviews. I make these all the time (usually by request!) and I have never heard anything but raves. Rarely are there any left. A couple of tips: I always line the pan with foil or parchment paper so the bars can be lifted out of the pan to be cut. I've never had a problem with soggy bottom crust as some others have seemed to. For a single recipe, I always need more than two packages of crescent rolls - I can never get two to stretch enough. The MOST important tip is that you MUST let the bars rest for about an hour before you cut them - otherwise they will fall apart. So plan ahead! I don't reserve some of the egg/parmesan mixture for the top - just spread it all over the roasted peppers. And I most often double this recipe and bake it in a quarter sheet pan (12" x 18"). Finally, you should also be aware that this is not a budget appetizer - but the praise is well worth the cost!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Made this for an after school snack...a win, the kids all loved it. I used peperoni and ham with shredded mozzarella cheese. I followed the advise to bake the bottom for 6 min, and kept everything else the same. Very quick, easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States