Antipasto Platter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
To clarify.... Remove the lettuce leaves in their entirely, and layed out on the platter in a smooth layer. The larger the leaves the better. This is what keeps the serving squares together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I tried this exactly as the recipe calls for and ended up with soggy lettuce in between layers of meat and cheese. The instructions for the provolone was way too much cheese and I would cut in half. I would agree with the review with suggests simply laying all the different ingrediants side by side on a platter. Great ingrediants, but be prepared to spend a few $$. This is not an inexpensive recipe! I'll try it again, and see if laying all the ingrediants side by side helps. Nov. 2004 - Back again! I tried this again with a few modifications and it was great. Left out the lettuce, fresh mushrooms, green olives and gorganzola. I was going for a very firm, compact dish and wanted to eliminate soft ingredients or anything that might be hard to cut. I layered all the ingredients in a 13x9 dish and then place it into the freezer, just until it was very cold. (not frozen, though). This enabled me to slice the dish into neat, bite sized squares which I then stuck a toothpick in and made an appetizer platter. Great hit because of the small bite-sizes and all the low-carb dieters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I brought this platter to a Christmas party and it was a huge hit! Everyone thought it had been professionally made! It is delicious and very easy to make. I substituted Italian Seasoning for the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Delicious and a hit at my annual Christmas Glogg party as the "new dish." Sure makes a lot tho. Had to layer it in a very large baking pan and then cut and place on a platter for serving. Instead of garlic powder and oregano, for a new taste, try Salad Supreme seasoning (found in spices)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Corbett Balach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnegie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this to bring to a New Year's Eve party and based upon previous reviews, I omitted the Italian dressing so it wouldn't get soggy and layered the meats side by side. The veggies were served on a separate platter. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I didn't make the platter version but instead just mixed all the ingredients and left out the lettuce. It was amazing! Despite making a large portion, this dish didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I love to make Antipasto platters. They are expensive though. I didn't place everything that Wendy listed on mine, there was just no way I have a platter that big. I agree with other reviewers that you shouldn't later the meat and cheese. I will tailor my platter to the crowd I am serving too. Some times it is just meat and cheese. I agree to leave the dressing off the lettuce. I do however drizzle my veggies and meat with a mixture of olive oil and oregano to add a little extra flavor since I usually don't serve dip with the platter. I don't recommend putting the oil on the cheese though or it will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is soooooooo good, and especially good with hot breadsticks! My guests loved it because it is something different too. I made my own oil and vinegar dressing, and used variations on the ingredients based on what I had or what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
All of my favorites on one platter! If you’re having a dinner party you have to serve this as your cold appetizer!! I change one ingredient - I use fresh mozzarella balls. Also, instead of layering the ingredients, I arrange them side-by-side around a platter and fill in the center with the soft cheeses so that my guests may choose what they like without having to sift through all those layers. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
All the ingredients worked well together for great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States