Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
As everyone knows, I hate meatloaf but it is one of hubby's favorite dishes. This was very good (accdg to hubby)! We omitted the MSG and otherwise made to recipe. I even ate some if that tells you anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I usually make meatloaf without using a recipe, but as I was serving it to company, thought I had better "go by the book". This is a great recipe. Does anyone even use MSG any more? I don't. I omitted any salt at all, and also used a few teaspoons of dried minced onion rather than the dry onion soup mix, which is full of sodium. I didn't use the bacon this time (was serving it to a guest who is on a salt-free diet). Thanks, Debbie--this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is the meatloaf recipe I've been looking for. Something like my mom used to make. I made slight changes. I threw in some chopped onion (b/c bf requested) and some worchestershire sauce. I left off the bacon and topped the whole thing with ketchup. I also made only half (just the 2 of us) and froze half. The cooking time was almost the same, but I slightly overcooked the bottom. Not a problem because we like the crunchies. I think with a little bit more tweaking, it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Easy, Easy, Easy. Did not use MSG. Tasted wonderful, kids and husband loved it. Served with mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle M.
Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I tried this recipe last night for dinner and it was amazing, I loved it, and so did my family I even brought some over for my in laws who also loved it. I used Italian Style bread crumbs with romano cheese and it added just the spices it needed, I fallowed everything else the same, I didn't use bacon either. But thank you for this recipe, I had a craving for meatloaf and it was worth every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I made this last night for our family. It was phenominal. I could not purchase onion soup mix at our small grocery store however, so I substituted it for an onion vegitable dip mix. It worked wonderful. I also doubled the bacon! It was a hit and in fact I am eating it for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Really good....even the leftovers got eaten. I used Italian bread crumbs and added a little garlic powder and Worcestershire. Instead of plain tomato sauce, I used catsup, brown sugar, and mustard. Using a 'meatloaf pan' that allows the grease to drain away as it bakes really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was pretty good. My boyfriend and son really liked it. Will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This meatloaf recipe was so easy to make, and i think it might be the best i've had. I even got a compliment from the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I'm Asian and this is my first try of meat loaf. Both my 10 yr old daughter and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States