Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I don't know why this recipe got a few bad reviews. I followed the recipe as written but used about eight ounzes of tomato sauce and cut the amount of water in half for the meat mixture. I then placed the remainging tomato sauce from the can on top. I also baked for about 15 minutes more than suggested so the temp was about 165 degrees. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Why don't they call it Dear Abby Meatloaf. Wasn't Dear Abby Ann Landers' sister? I prefer the Amish Meatloaf recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Despite using a thermometer to avoid overcooking this meat loaf turned out incredible dry. I think either the liquid needs to be increased or need to use less breadcrumbs. I did use 90% lean ground beef-but the recipe does state lean beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
My husband loves this recipe. I've done several variations: put 1/2 the meat in the pan, layer mozarella cheese, top with the other 1/2 and bake; mix the tomato paste in with the meat instead of putting on top for a more moist loaf; mixing hot salsa into the meat for a southwestern kick. It always comes out delicious! My sister-in-law gave me another great idea: bake the meat in muffin tins. Not only does it cook faster (check it every 20 min, depending on your oven), but it makes it very easy to take for lunch the next day. Perfect for school lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Norwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is such an easy and very tasty meatloaf. I use it all the time now!! I am making it tommorow for my friend's birthday party tommorow. Serving it with mayonaise with chopped basil, sliced tomatoes and lettuce and sourdough bread!! Good ole meatloaf sandwiches! I use ketchup on the top of the meatloaf! Thank you for this good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Just the flavor I was looking for! I make it all the time now. I use 100% whole wheat bread crumbs to help make it healthy - tastes just as good! (Also a good recipe for sneaking vegetables into picky eaters' tummies, LOL.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is great, I do omit the MSG and depending on what we are having with it omit the tomato sauce. If we are having french fries, I top it with ketchup, if we are having mashed potatoes I leave it plain and heat up a jar of gravy. Also I shape it into a loaf in a 9x13 pan and add about a cup of water to the pan right before it goes in the oven, it helps keep it moist and the meatloaf doesn't stick and the grease is easier to drain out. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This recipe is great. I did, however, make one minor change. I did not add the MSG to the mixture. I made this and we loved it. We will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States