Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Have used this recipe twice, trying to find the correct balance of ingredients for us. The first time we couldn't eat any of the finished product due to the bacon; the meatloaf tasted too salty and not at all like meatloaf. The second time, I eliminated the bacon, and with another user's advice I substituted tomato sauce for the ketchup and some of the water. The result was moist and tasted good. It is still not our favorite meatloaf, but it is an easy, basic recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This meatloaf was good. My husband loved it and so did my kids. The only thing I changed was I used beefy onion soup instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a really good, basic meatlof recipe. I took another reviewer's suggestion of mixing ketchup with bbq sauce to add to the ground beef mixture and to the top. The whole family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is classic meatloaf! I mix the 2 lbs of meat, divide it in half and freeze one for later. If you like the crusty outside, shape meat into several "armadillos" and the cook time will be shortened a bit. I also skip the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I didn't add the msg simply because I didn't have any, and my husband and I aren't crazy about ketchup/tomato soup on our meatloaf. We like brown gravy. I don't know if that really makes a difference or not but even without it, this is an awesome meatloaf recipe! I can finally stop looking for one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMJESS2588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I've been looking for the perfect meatloaf recipe, and this is it! DH gave it rave reviews as well. Like almost everyone else, I left out the MSG. Instead, I subbed 1/2 tsp. steak seasoning mix. Also, instead of the bacon and tomato sauce on top, I made crisscrosses with drizzled ketchup and mustard, like my mother used to do. SO delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made this recipe tonight. It was ok, not the greatest, but ok. Next time, I think I'll reduce the amount of meat, maybe down to 1 1/2 lbs and mix some onions into the ground beef. It needed something, just not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
The loaf didn't taste like anything, and the texture was awful! Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was really delicious and SO moist, the onion soup mix was a great idea I have not tried before. There was a few things I changed the second time I made it though. Instead of the ketchup and tomato sauce I made a ketchup and BBQ sauce mixture to use inside and on top of the meatloaf, which added a little tang and a lot of flavor. I also omitted the bacon and MSG and added in chopped onions. I would definately recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I don't know why this recipe got a few bad reviews. I followed the recipe as written but used about eight ounzes of tomato sauce and cut the amount of water in half for the meat mixture. I then placed the remainging tomato sauce from the can on top. I also baked for about 15 minutes more than suggested so the temp was about 165 degrees. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States