Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have found that using extra-lean ground beef works just as well as lean. Sometimes I'll use a cheese sauce on the top in place of the tomato sauce and substitute little bits of ham for the bacon. Like other reviewers, I NEVER use MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I've made this several times now and it's fantastic. The kids say it's one of the best things that I make and it's also one of the easiest. Highest compliment of all: my wife, who was very patronizing when I started doing the cooking, is now jealous and gets mad when I fish for compliments. I make it without the MSG and the bacon and it's still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good meatloaf recipe. Used tomato sauce & no MSG. Very tasty, especially cold sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I think this is a great meatloaf base recipe, but there is a lot of room for improvement. I omitted the MSG and bacon. I used italian seasoned bread crumbs, added garlic powder and a splash or two of worchestershire sauce. Even with these modifications both my husband and I found this meatloaf relatively bland. However it was very moist and good otherwise. I will definitely try this again but with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very good recipe and easy to make. I substitute the ketchup for chilli sauce and the tomato sauce for tomato soup. The result is great. Not mushy, not too crumbly. I'd even be tempted to add more tomato soup while serving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eclipse777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was ok, needed more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was very good. It turned out extremely moist. I did add a couple of things. 1/4 a Red Bell Pepper, and a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and my bread crumbs were a mix of plain and seasoned. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
sooo good and super simple! i wasn't too keen on doing just tomato sauce because I've always liked more of a ketchup glaze so i found a really easy one from Alton Brown which is 1/2 cup of Ketchup, dash Worcester , dash of Hot Pepper sauce, 1 tbsp honey and 1 tsp of ground cumin. PERFECTION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
It was very easy - and as most did, I omitted the MSG. Delicious, moist without being greasy and a great taste. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
MSG? Really? other than that ingredient, this recipe is really quite good. I also left out the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malcriada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States