Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Very good flavor - I substitued Heinz 57 sauce for part of the ketchup, also didn't use all of the water. Very good texture, but needed more than 1 hour to bake. About 1 hour, 15 minutes. Overall, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This was really good. I omitted the MSG and bacon. I added 1/2 an onion, chopped. I also used Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix. My dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This recipe was okay. Nothing mind blowing about it. I will continue trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Very good and moist! I too left out the MSG and and bacon. I reduced the amounts of each ingredient as I only had 1 1/4 lb of meat. I forgot to pour on the tomato sauce before baking, so I poured ketchup over the top when the meatloaf came out of the oven. My husband loved it. There was 1 small piece left over which made a great sandwich the next day..Will definitely use this recipe again...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This was a very good meatloaf recipe and easy to make. I covered the meatloaf with ketchup instead of tomato sauce and left out the MSG & bacon. Kids even liked it which was a shocker! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Great meatloaf recipe. It is just as good without the bacon. I didn't use the MSG, and I found that it is better with ketchup on top instead of tomatoe sauce. The texture is nice, and it doesn't fall apart when it's cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Everyone loves this! I "enhance" it a bit by finely chopping one small, seeded green bell pepper and mixing it in with the other ingredients. Also, my young sons (undeveloped palates) like it when I mix ketchup in with the tomato sauce for the topping - I do a 1/2 and 1/2 mix of the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was good but mine came out with a weird texture. I will stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was definitely the best meatloaf I have ever made. I omitted the MSG and tomato paste - just used ketchup on top and it was great. I was a little concerned that it wasn't done all the way after any hour because it's very gooey - I kept it in an extra 10-15 minutes and it was perfect. Even my picky 5 y/o son loved it (though he wouldn't admit it lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This was okay. Nothing spectacular to speak of. I would recommend using plain tomato sauce to top it off with. I tried diluting tomato paste and that was thick and goopy even with all the water I added. I also tried serving with a can of Meatloaf Sauce and it was not good at all; kind of tangy, actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States