Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This was my first meatloaf I made and It was very simple. I did omit the MSG and used salt instead and I think that the meatloaf was a little too salty. I don't know if this happenes with every meatloaf, but when mine was done, there was about 3" high of grease in the loaf pan....kinda gross but it was a very tasty. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used ketchup instead of the tomato sauce. I will make again, but with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This recipe was great. I left out the msg and bacon and used ketchup instead of tomato sause. It was really tasty and my boyfriend loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe! I am a newlywed and love to try out new recipes on my husband - he seems to like it!:) I followed the advice of several of my fellow cooks and left out the MSG and used ketchup instead of tomatoe sauce on top and it was great. Also, the last time I made it, I used Masterpiece barbeque sauce mixed in with the meat instead of ketchup. It gave it a different, tangy flavor and my husband thought loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I have been making this meatloaf for years but without the bacon, MSG or tomato sauce. I have tried other recipes that were much more complicated and my husband always says go back to the original one. I also use 4Cs seasoned breadcrumbs. I cook it a little longer too. That firms it up. I usually double the recipe and use 1 pound of ground pork and three pounds of Ground round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I have been looking for a good meatloaf recipe to compare to my mother's. This one was pretty good. Mine was not as firm as I would like, but I honestly think that was MY mistake in mixing it up. I asked my boyfriend what he thought and he said it was a solid good, and definitely would like to have it again. So we reccommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I LOVED this recipe! Amazingly, so did my 3 picky boys! I substituted salt for the MSG though. The first time I made it I did use the tomato sauce on top, but the second time I just used ketchup and that was actually better. This recipe is in our official family cookbook of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This was a great recipe. I did leave out the MSG, but pretty much stuck to the rest of the recipe. I definately would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This was the first meatloaf recipe I used and I stick with it. It is consistently good. I have changed a few things here and there, including using a meatloaf mix from the local grocery store which is a mixture of hamburg, veal and pork. I have received rave reviews from many friends I have made this for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Very good flavor - I substitued Heinz 57 sauce for part of the ketchup, also didn't use all of the water. Very good texture, but needed more than 1 hour to bake. About 1 hour, 15 minutes. Overall, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This was really good. I omitted the MSG and bacon. I added 1/2 an onion, chopped. I also used Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix. My dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States