Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
We are huge Etouffee fans here. This recipe was very hot but not very flavorful. I changed it a bit to make it more appealing to my taste. I used chicken broth instead of water, added a dash of cajun seasoning, worcestershire and a bit of parsley and tomato paste (to give it some color). When the whole thing was cooked I thickened it a bit more with some cornstarch in white wine (gave it a nice finished touch) I ended up with a traditional tasting true New Orleans style Shrimp toufee. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I had some crawfish etoufee while in nawlins last year and it wss incredible. so I decide to try and make some at home. my wife refused to eat crawfish which led me to this recipe. I reduced the recipe to 6 servings. I used chicken broth in place of water, added a heaping tablespoon of tomato paste, cut back on the paprika a good bit. I was astonished! this tasted perfect. this will be a regular for me. Also as others have noted. when reduceing the recipe don't forget to cut back on the water/chicken broth and cook times will be greatly reduced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Cut the recipe to 4 servings, used 1/2c water, then added 1/2c of wine and a couple healthy shakes of creole seasoning toward the end. With 5 minutes left til done, I added 1lb of defrosted pre-cooked shrimp. I don't know if my changes made the recipe better, but we sure did love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I'm sure the sauce is excellent but I just have to tell you that cook in any size shrimp for 20 minutes will only give you the toughest shrimp imaginable... Please be fair to the shrimp; put them in LAST and cook them only until they turn pink - 4 minutes at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This recipe was delicious. I did not abide by the cooking times as I thought that the shrimp would get tough.....and it worked out just fine. I did add about another tablespoon of butter in the beginning so the onions and celery would not burn. I also added the cayenne pepper and garlic salt instead of regular salt. My husband said to put the "on the list"! (he added that this was much better than his mom's and hers is to die for) Thank you Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I really liked this but BECAREFUL! If you scale down the recipe, it does not change the amount of H20 listed in the method.I screwed up by adding too much H20 and had to let it cook way down. My dumb fault but it didn't dawn on me until I poured it in. Otherwise, it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
Great recipe! I substituted chicken broth for the water, added a can of chopped tomatoes (in sauce), and added some extra red pepper flakes to make it nice and spicy. It was SO yummy over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Scaled down to four. Substituted a bit of white wine for water and cajun seasoning for salt and pepper. Lightly seasoned shrimp with seafood seasoning and added a 4 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Very good with brown rice. Boyfriend loved it and so did I. Definately a keeper! Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Be careful if you reduce the number of servings down from 20, as the text of the recipe does not reduce accordingly. I liked this but my husband wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was great!! We added tomato sauce and crabmeat, also took the advice of others and added the cajun seasoning. Very highly recommended. Worth the prep time anyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States