Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
i have made this several times. using chicken broth instead of water, tomatoe paste, old b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
EXCELLENT recipe! I used this for company and it was RAVED over! I used a chunky one-cup measuring cup, packed the rice tight into it and dumped it out onto each plate. Then I served up the etoufee OVER the mound of rice, garnishing with lemon and orange slices and parsley. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I gave this a four because I did some changes for tastes. If you enjoy seasoning, I suggest the following: Use chicken broth instead of water, season with McCormicks Cajun Seasoning and McCormicks Red Pepper Seasoning. I used half shrimp and half crab meat. My hubby could not believe how YUMMY it all was!!! I served this with some of my signature cornbread and it was the perfect compliment to this great dish! Thank you Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Even though my family rated this 5, I still didn't taste anything extra-ordinary that would make want to have this again, especialy with the long cooking time. I don't know, maybe it's due to all of the changes I made- used chicken broth as recomended (and yes, I scaled it down) added 1 tbs tomato paste and used 2lb shrimps and 1/2lb scallops (which was my first time cooking scallops- and they came out delicious!) Also, as spices used , besides the ones in the recipe, cayene pepper and a lil bit of chili powder for a kick. over all was good and enjoyed it. Thank you for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I found this to be a great way to use up leftover New Year's Eve shrimp. Very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My family loved this etoufee. Have also used this recipe with chicken and sausage instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
****BAM**** Holy moly, this is PHENOMENAL. Even if you consider yourself a GREAT cook, I think this will impress you. I followed the recipe exactly until adding the salt...at which point, I used Zataran's creole seasoning salt (using the saltiness to guide you). This roux was SO SMOOTHE (thanks to the butter me thinks). It danced lightly upon every taste bud I have. Absolutely the BEST recipe I've tasted in a long time (and I'm a cook...not just a now-and-again-er, if you know what I mean...). MMMM-mmmm-mmmm. HALLELUJAH say's the taste buds! Can't thank you enough Ann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
My husband and I had our first taste of shrimp etouffee when we finally took a trip to New Orleans about 3 years ago - and we couldn't get enough! This recipe is just as good, if not better than we remember... We served it over a long grain wild rice, and it was FABULOUS!! Still cant get enough even though we ate 'til we thought we'd burst! Don't sweat the time involved..it's well worth every minute. You cannot rush perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Very good - go light on the pepper to start
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States