Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i liked it, but my family (and a very picky husband) loved it! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eLi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urb. Ponce De Leon, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was truly fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFabulous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
i have made this several times. using chicken broth instead of water, tomatoe paste, old b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
EXCELLENT recipe! I used this for company and it was RAVED over! I used a chunky one-cup measuring cup, packed the rice tight into it and dumped it out onto each plate. Then I served up the etoufee OVER the mound of rice, garnishing with lemon and orange slices and parsley. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNYANN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I gave this a four because I did some changes for tastes. If you enjoy seasoning, I suggest the following: Use chicken broth instead of water, season with McCormicks Cajun Seasoning and McCormicks Red Pepper Seasoning. I used half shrimp and half crab meat. My hubby could not believe how YUMMY it all was!!! I served this with some of my signature cornbread and it was the perfect compliment to this great dish! Thank you Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Even though my family rated this 5, I still didn't taste anything extra-ordinary that would make want to have this again, especialy with the long cooking time. I don't know, maybe it's due to all of the changes I made- used chicken broth as recomended (and yes, I scaled it down) added 1 tbs tomato paste and used 2lb shrimps and 1/2lb scallops (which was my first time cooking scallops- and they came out delicious!) Also, as spices used , besides the ones in the recipe, cayene pepper and a lil bit of chili powder for a kick. over all was good and enjoyed it. Thank you for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I found this to be a great way to use up leftover New Year's Eve shrimp. Very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My family loved this etoufee. Have also used this recipe with chicken and sausage instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
****BAM**** Holy moly, this is PHENOMENAL. Even if you consider yourself a GREAT cook, I think this will impress you. I followed the recipe exactly until adding the salt...at which point, I used Zataran's creole seasoning salt (using the saltiness to guide you). This roux was SO SMOOTHE (thanks to the butter me thinks). It danced lightly upon every taste bud I have. Absolutely the BEST recipe I've tasted in a long time (and I'm a cook...not just a now-and-again-er, if you know what I mean...). MMMM-mmmm-mmmm. HALLELUJAH say's the taste buds! Can't thank you enough Ann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States