Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was terrific! Made it for a dinner guest and her two 10 year old boys and even they asked for seconds! I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp thawed and chopped and it turned out terrific! Also added more salt for flavor. Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This recipe was awesome!!! Not too much work and absolutely delicious. I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and substituted chicken broth (1 1/2 cups) for water as one of the other reviewers suggested. This will be a great recipe for entertaining. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Fed.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Great! I love the spice in this. I left out the mushrooms for JRW, and it turned out great. Made it with brown rice and garlic biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I had some crawfish etoufee while in nawlins last year and it wss incredible. so I decide to try and make some at home. my wife refused to eat crawfish which led me to this recipe. I reduced the recipe to 6 servings. I used chicken broth in place of water, added a heaping tablespoon of tomato paste, cut back on the paprika a good bit. I was astonished! this tasted perfect. this will be a regular for me. Also as others have noted. when reduceing the recipe don't forget to cut back on the water/chicken broth and cook times will be greatly reduced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This recipe worked out perfectly and was delicious. I strongly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUALL26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I took this to my Texas Holdem poker nite. Everyone loved it. I made this for my Texas Holdem Poker nite. They all loved it. I took some suggestions from others and I used chicken broth instead of water, less water if you halfed the recipe, cajun seasoning, doubled the mushrooms and added small can of tomatoe sauce. I used 2 lbs shrimp and pound of imitation crab meat. Plenty of seafood! Awesome!! Thanks Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I definitely made a smaller portion of this as it was just myself and my husband. I didn't put in the celery since my husband hates it and picks up on the taste of celery in anything. Overall it was an excellent recipe and I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Absolutely fabulous, even for those of us who are beginner cooks. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
EXCELLENT! Needed something quick and tasty for dinner, and this was perfect! Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Now I realize why the author makes enough for 20 - this recipe was delicious! For my family, I cut the recipe down to serve 5. Thank you to everyone who warned me to cut back on the water proportionately. I found the cooking times could be decreased as well, probably because the quantities were smaller. Anyway, I used thawed and chopped orange roughy instead of shrimp, chicken broth instead of water, a bit more garlic, and a teaspoon of cajun seasoning. I served it over white rice and everyone loved it. I can't wait to try this again with shrimp or crab meat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 121-130 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States