Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was terrific! Made it for a dinner guest and her two 10 year old boys and even they asked for seconds! I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp thawed and chopped and it turned out terrific! Also added more salt for flavor. Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This recipe was awesome!!! Not too much work and absolutely delicious. I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and substituted chicken broth (1 1/2 cups) for water as one of the other reviewers suggested. This will be a great recipe for entertaining. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY2473

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Great! I love the spice in this. I left out the mushrooms for JRW, and it turned out great. Made it with brown rice and garlic biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I had some crawfish etoufee while in nawlins last year and it wss incredible. so I decide to try and make some at home. my wife refused to eat crawfish which led me to this recipe. I reduced the recipe to 6 servings. I used chicken broth in place of water, added a heaping tablespoon of tomato paste, cut back on the paprika a good bit. I was astonished! this tasted perfect. this will be a regular for me. Also as others have noted. when reduceing the recipe don't forget to cut back on the water/chicken broth and cook times will be greatly reduced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This recipe worked out perfectly and was delicious. I strongly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUALL26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I took this to my Texas Holdem poker nite. Everyone loved it. I made this for my Texas Holdem Poker nite. They all loved it. I took some suggestions from others and I used chicken broth instead of water, less water if you halfed the recipe, cajun seasoning, doubled the mushrooms and added small can of tomatoe sauce. I used 2 lbs shrimp and pound of imitation crab meat. Plenty of seafood! Awesome!! Thanks Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I definitely made a smaller portion of this as it was just myself and my husband. I didn't put in the celery since my husband hates it and picks up on the taste of celery in anything. Overall it was an excellent recipe and I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Absolutely fabulous, even for those of us who are beginner cooks. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
EXCELLENT! Needed something quick and tasty for dinner, and this was perfect! Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Now I realize why the author makes enough for 20 - this recipe was delicious! For my family, I cut the recipe down to serve 5. Thank you to everyone who warned me to cut back on the water proportionately. I found the cooking times could be decreased as well, probably because the quantities were smaller. Anyway, I used thawed and chopped orange roughy instead of shrimp, chicken broth instead of water, a bit more garlic, and a teaspoon of cajun seasoning. I served it over white rice and everyone loved it. I can't wait to try this again with shrimp or crab meat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 121-130 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States