Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
We made this last night for Fat Tuesday, and it was sooo good! We only put 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper in it because we are not big on hot foods! That amount was just perfect for us! We also did not need to cook it as long as the recipe says. We really enjoyed this, and it is going in my recipe box! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I cut down the recipe so it served 4 people or 1# shrimp. Cut down on water as others and increased mushrooms and kept the shimp whole. I added more garlic & red pepper. It was a delicious dish with pasta shells. Serve with a salad & garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
k;jk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I made this with cooked shrimp since it was all I had and added them in at the end. I added more mushrooms just because I love them and plenty of hot sauce. Although this recipe is time consuming, the end result is delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
very good, did need a lot of salt though. i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Be careful if you reduce the number of servings down from 20, as the text of the recipe does not reduce accordingly. I liked this but my husband wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I have made a few changes to this recipe to make it work for me. I use frozen shrimp (preferably without tails) and reduce the amount of water to 1 cup. My family loves this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was great recipe. My husband and I loved it. I didn't change a thing. Just scaled down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Thank you, Ann. I have been always afraid of making shrimp etoufee, and this recipe made it so easy. I added some thyme, rosemary and basil and 1 chopped tomato. I also used a pinch of cayenne and dash of tabasco sauce. It didn't thicken as much as I wanted, so I added some corn starch at the end. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for the adults at my son's birthday party a couple of weeks ago, and it was a huge hit! I added a few pinches of cayane pepper and a fairly generous amount of the red pepper flakes too. I left some Cajun hot sauce out for my guests to spice it a bit more, and everyone raved! Even one of the kids loved it. She told me that it was the best food she's ever eaten in her whole life! I'm making it again in a couple of days for another get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States