Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I scaled the quantity down to 1/4 of the original recipe. Based on other reviewers' comments, I agreed that, as is, this dish needed some depth of flavors; so I used chicken broth rather than water, added homemade cajun seasoning (rather than just paprika, cayenne, S&P), a little worcestershire, some tomato paste, garlic powder along with the fresh, & a bit of white wine. I used a portabello mushroom & all that was available in my town was already-cooked shrimp, which I tossed in toward the end, after the sauce had simmered, to warm it through. Served over sticky rice alongside steamed buttery broccoli. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I had been looking at this recipe for a while and was getting all the ingredients together. So on my off day, I made this and talk about hmmm, hmmm good! I was trying to stick to the original recipe, I made it to the part where you add the shrimp, but my patience wore out and from there I deviated. Based on other reviews, I added chicken broth, a can of rotel original, tony chachere's, old bay, sliced okra, crab meat.....served it over rice with cornbread, my fiance' who's Arabic, loved it too, the gravy/sauce lingers on your tongue and you just want to keep eating until its all gone. I will serve it again. Quite adaptable, once you get the gravy right, anything else is all good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I prepared this for a family gathering everyone loved it. they talked about it for 2 days after. I did add a little extra spice to my taste and I used tomato paste for a little color. I will make this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is good! However, using that much butter/margarine is scary! Next time I will try only 1/8 of a stick or canola spray. I also want to try to add okra and stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I've made this dish several times, and everytime its wonderful! A few times I was out of paprika so I just used a seasoning salt. Plus I always add extra garlic since we love it so much! Very easy to make, and tastes awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I used cooked shrimp and eliminated the 20 minute cook time for the raw shrimp. I don't cook much but I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I used a can of tomatoes w/chilis instead of some of the water and I ran out of paprika, so I put some cajun seasoning in also. My husband loved it! Tastes great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Fantastic! I added creole seasoning and it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Delicious! I added 1 can of Ro-Tel tomatoes, original or mild, and I used only 2 cups water. A friend used the RoTel tomatoes and 1 can cream of celery soup to replace the fresh celery,and she said it was so good. The gravy makes the shrimp and rice delicious.Fresh garlic and onions make it so good. I like alot of onions, so I increased it to 1 more onion in the recipe. Super good! I didn't cut up the shrimp, just choose the size of shrimp wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i liked it, but my family (and a very picky husband) loved it! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eLi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urb. Ponce De Leon, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States