Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe twice now, and I love it. Instead of seasoning with salt, pepper, and red pepper, I've stuck with Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning (and lots of it). His blend is a good balance of spicy, salty, and robust flavor. Also, I used a mixture of shrimp and crawfish, but the crawfish make it sort of gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good - I followed the other reviewer's advice, added a splash of wine, chicken broth instead of water, half a small can of tomato paste and a few dashes of cajun seasoning. Delish! Husband and 9 year old daughter liked it. Have some tobasco on the table, too...MMmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is so yummy & versatile, I followed the suggestions by other reviewers and found them super helpful. I've made this recipe several times and loved it but tonight I substituted stew meat, used vermouth & corn starch to thicken the broth and then used it as a filling for a Shepherds Pie. It was by far the best Shepherds Pie I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
i substituted lobster we caught in the Bahamas..used about 6 - 7 tails and this was a great recipe! I have made it several times on request...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
So easy! So Good! This is awesome and simple - I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I thought overall this dish was good, although it was kinda of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this for 4 and it was awesome! I was so surprised at how low calorie, but delicious this was. I did adjust the time and used 1/2 water and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have tried several etouffee recipes, but this is the most authentic and best tasting. I have adjusted a little, including using lobster stock instead of water or chicken broth. I also started using half shrimp and half scallops, which everyone loves. Unfortunately crawfish is hard to find in Los Angeles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I'm sure the sauce is excellent but I just have to tell you that cook in any size shrimp for 20 minutes will only give you the toughest shrimp imaginable... Please be fair to the shrimp; put them in LAST and cook them only until they turn pink - 4 minutes at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Try this recipe. It's fantastic! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States