Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Cut the recipe to 4 servings, used 1/2c water, then added 1/2c of wine and a couple healthy shakes of creole seasoning toward the end. With 5 minutes left til done, I added 1lb of defrosted pre-cooked shrimp. I don't know if my changes made the recipe better, but we sure did love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I really liked this but BECAREFUL! If you scale down the recipe, it does not change the amount of H20 listed in the method.I screwed up by adding too much H20 and had to let it cook way down. My dumb fault but it didn't dawn on me until I poured it in. Otherwise, it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
We made this last night for Fat Tuesday, and it was sooo good! We only put 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper in it because we are not big on hot foods! That amount was just perfect for us! We also did not need to cook it as long as the recipe says. We really enjoyed this, and it is going in my recipe box! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I cut down the recipe so it served 4 people or 1# shrimp. Cut down on water as others and increased mushrooms and kept the shimp whole. I added more garlic & red pepper. It was a delicious dish with pasta shells. Serve with a salad & garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie Theus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
k;jk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I made this with cooked shrimp since it was all I had and added them in at the end. I added more mushrooms just because I love them and plenty of hot sauce. Although this recipe is time consuming, the end result is delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
very good, did need a lot of salt though. i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Be careful if you reduce the number of servings down from 20, as the text of the recipe does not reduce accordingly. I liked this but my husband wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I have made a few changes to this recipe to make it work for me. I use frozen shrimp (preferably without tails) and reduce the amount of water to 1 cup. My family loves this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was great recipe. My husband and I loved it. I didn't change a thing. Just scaled down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States