Ann's Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
What an absolutely delicious side dish for either chicken or pork. The store didn't have either vermicelli or greek seasoning. I used the greek seasoning recipe from the AR site (it was great) and whole grain thin spaghetti for the vermicelli. From a presentation perspective, I think I'll break the pasta into smaller pieces the next time. Since I used 2 tsp bouillon granules, I did not add the salt, and we didn't miss it. We like pepper, and this was just the perfect qty for us, but if you're not a pepper lover, you may want to approach that measurement cautiously. I think this would make an excellent filling for a hollowed out whole ripe summer tomato or even adding some shredded chicken to it for a summer lunch. Moist, flavorful, and just downright tasty. Thanks, Ann, this is a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe very much. I didn't have Greek seasoning so I used Old Bay since I was serving shrimp also. I also used brown rice instead of white which, of course, increased the cooking time. I liked the brown rice so next time would use about 1/2 the butter and increase the water to 3 cups. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A great base recipe. I like to add my own twist and this recipe certainly allowed for that. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Delicious! I was making schwarma chicken so I decided to add hot curry powder in place of the Greek seasoning and it turned out well. I like being able to adapt it to the main course. Thank for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Thanks for sharing Ann! A great base recipe to serve with just about any entree. I didn't have the vermicelli so substituted spaghetti, also used Old Bay and 1/4 tsp of pepper. Will add mushrooms next time and use the Greek seasoning. Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Fantastic! I had to cut the black pepper by half, but otherwise make this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Not too bland, not too bold, just right - and for my turkey dinner tonight that means it was perfect. Hubs and I both appreciated its simplicity. I used orzo for the broken vermicelli and chicken broth rather than the bouillon and water. Even tho’ the submitter encourages using your choice of seasoning, I stuck to the Greek seasoning as the recipe was written. As she said, however, the recipe is versatile so it allows the flexibility to use any number of different herbs or seasonings. We loved it, plain and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Amazingly simple and amazingly fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was soo good. I took the leftover rice and ate it as a meal the next day at work. Its that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris0107

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made this recipe for 6 servings and it turned out great. I served this with fish so I switched the Greek seasoning to Old Bay as suggested by the recipe submitter. Love that you can change the seasoning based on what type of meat it will be served along side. I have made other recipes similar to this and they have lacked flavor; this one is now my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States