Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
If you like a tiny bit of bite, substitute diced Andouille sausage for ground beef. It becomes a medium-mild and inexpensive "poor man's jambalaya," missing the obvious seasonings, blackened chicken and shrimp/crawdads, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe that my mother used to make also. It was one of those family favorites and a staple in our home. The only difference was that she didn't put in the bell peppers but did add some garlic. Also she sometimes added chopped tomatoes too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Filling comfort food, just added a bit of Worcester Sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My mom makes something like this as well. She started out making it in college since the base is rice so it is very cheap and you can make a lot to keep in the fridge for the week. Try switching the veggies up (carrots, celery, and corn taste great in it!) and adding some shredded cheese (I use cheddar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe!!! What a quick, easy and budget friendly dish! I didn't have any green or red peppers so I used a can of drained zesty jalapeño diced tomatoes and added water to the liquid to measure just over 2 cups and didn't add any salt since my tomatoes were seasoned. I will make with peppers this summer when I can pick them fresh out of my garden. I am definitely adding this to my normal dinner rotation! Thanks Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToriAthensGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Really quick and good weekday meal! I added a bit of garlic to the beef before cooking and took out the red bell pepper as I didn't have any on hand. The meat mix looked a little plain so when I added in the rice I also added in a can of corn (drained) and a cal of Rotelle tomatoes for a bit of a kick...It was fantastic with a bit if ketchup on top! It even reheated well for lunch the next day! This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My family really enjoyed this. It was packed with flavour, and it was quick and easy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BWOOD19
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made exactly as stated. I loved it, hubby said I can make it again (high praise!). Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BWOOD19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a very easy, tasty last minute meal to throw together. I didn't use the peppers as I didn't have any on hand. I added a can of Rotel at the advice of others, which added a nice kick. The seasoning was very good. I added a little ketchup to my 2 year old's plate and he gobbled it up. Will def make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMM2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States