Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a big hit in our house (including with our 4 and 1 year olds)!! We substituted sausage for ground beef and thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was super quick and easy to make. I have 3 extremely picky children and it is rare to cook something that they ALL 3 like. They all not only cleaned their plates but two of them even requested seconds! My husband also gave it five stars. This is a new family favorite for sure!! Thanks Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great Mardi Gras dinner slathered in a generous seasoning of Frank's Red Hot. Used ground pork instead of beef, chicken bouillon in place of beef, and also added some smoked sausage. Will start dinner earlier next time so I can use a lot more bell pepper, but love the simplicity and relative quickness. Oh, used Emeril's Essence as seasoned salt, too. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Pretty good. The only issue I had was it was slightly bland and like another reviewer stated a little soupy. I used instant rice which requires 1 cup of water per 1 cup of rice but I followed the recipe for 2 cups of water. Will definitely make again adding more spices and with less water since it was a quick and overall good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was a good simple meal and I needed to use up a bunch of peppers. I used Yellow pepper along with the green and red. I Only gave it four stars becuase I made it as written and I think It would have been much better if I made the rice seperate and then added it to the cooked meat and peppers. I think it lost alot of its natural flavor and made it too soupy to do it all in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Ms. Ho
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made some modifications: 4 cups long grain white rice, 8 cups chicken stock, 3 tablespoons vegetable oil, 1lb ground kobe beef, sliced beef kielbasa, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 large diced red onion, 2 stalk celery diced, 1 diced yellow bell pepper, 1 diced red bell pepper, cayenne pepper to taste, 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves, Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Hallalujah! Somebody that knows how to make dirty rice from scratch without using a dirty rice mix!!! Thank you! I'd add Garlic Powder and Parsley flakes to this recipe to make it a 5 star dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Use a little bit of sausage for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was a great meal, it was quick to make and easy as well. Leftovers were good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
What a simple, flavorful. easy to make meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States