Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Family loved it. It was GREAT as leftovers! Will be a staple in our house. And allergy friendly! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It's rare that I have every single ingredient to a recipe that allows me to follow the instructions to the letter (which is always my goal the first time I make something), but I did and therefore feel I can fairly rate this recipe as originally published. I found the results to be very bland--to the point of going back to re-read the recipe to make sure it didn't call for 1/2 tablespoons vs. teaspoons of salt, pepper & seasoned salt. Everything else about the dish worked well, and adding a teaspoon of cajun seasoning after tasting definitely helped. It's a good base recipe and I'd make it again, but with more focus on additional seasoning from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Guelli
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Easy as pie. I added black beans abs sprinkled with cayenne pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Guelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Didn't use the bell peppers... Turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great recipe! I added beef boullion to the rice in place of salt becausse I used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Good basic recipe that can be tweaked with extra ingredients. Perfect for a quick fix meal. I used 1 pkg boil in the bag brown rice (just dumped the dry rice in there) and it turned out perfect. I added a half bag of Baja style corn that had too many peppers and onions for our liking to eat plain. It worked great in this recipe. I also topped with 1/2 bag of shredded cheddar cheese. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Easy, quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I enjoyed making this recipe,but like so many reviewers previously, i too made many adjustments. The recipe is a great foundation for a creative cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good start but missing a lot. I add ½ pound of andouille Cajun sausage, 2 stalks of celery, a few dashes for Louisiana Hot Sauce, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce 1 teaspoon of dried parsley. I also saute the rice a little bit with the vegetables, before I add the liquid, to brown it a slight bit. A bay leaf is a nice addition and some thyme too, but not a must have, just adds lots of good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
On the pro side, quick, easy and one skillet used. On the con side, I should have added other ingredients (I included mushrooms) as some suggested. Will try again with either tomatoes, celery, corn, or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States