Anniversary Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Just a quick note, due to restrictions on using "name brands" the recipe as listed is a little misleading. I use a very popular soy based gourmet cooking sauce(that cannot be named) that is very close to teriyaki sauce (but more thicker) in this recipe. If you use regular soy sauce, this recipe will be too salty. Happy Cooking - Danielle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dms036

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This chicken dish turns out tender and succulent every time I make it. My husband ate THREE servings tonight. We love the savory bacon and rich blend of toppings. I prefer it to the "Anniversary Chicken I" recipe because it uses REAL bacon and white/yellow onion instead of green. Two suggestions: 1. It might not take 30 minutes to bake the chicken and you don't want to overdo and toughen this dish. 2. For those concerned about salt, you can use low sodium bacon and low sodium stir fry sauce. Also just drizzle the sauces on (you won't need a full cup of ranch dressing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Definately worth cooking again, as the only complaint I got was in the color (everything is brown/beige). I assumed the soy sauce was supposed to be mixed with the ranch to make the 'cooking sauce', based on the order of the ingredients. From reading the other reviews about saltiness -- I didn't use all of the bacon (it seemed a bit excessive), and I didn't use 'lite' soy sauce ('lite' soy is usually saltier than dark [superior] soy, which is more sweet/higher calories... look at the labels in the store)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I did as others suggested: used teriyaki sauce instead of soy, reduced the bacon by half, chopped it up & used low sodium as well, reduced the parmesan to 3/4 c., reduced the ranch by half, and added 3/4 t. of minced garlic to the sauteed onions. Will make again and again. Thanks for the recipe and suggestions of others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Excellent dish....I used mild cheddar instead of parmesan, used Bone-in chicken breast instead of boneless and less soy sauce than requested. I think adding mushrooms to the bacon/onion mixture would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars, not because it didn't taste GREAT, but because of the saltiness of it. Even after reducing the bacon to 1/2 pound and using low sodium soy sauce, I kept waking up all night after eating this with a really dry mouth. Strange, it didn't taste all that salty, but it is! Maybe I'm just sensitive to it. It really is a nice mix of flavors, so if the sodium doesn't bother you - Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This recipe was great! My entire family loved it. I did do a few things different. 1)I used less soy sauce than called for. 2) I only used half the bacon called for - about 7 slices- and chopped the bacon up. 3) I added a half teaspoon minced garlic to the onion bacon mixture 4)I only had one boneless breast and six drumsticks -my cooking time increased to about an hour with the drumsticks - but they were absolutely fabulous! 5) I used a little less parmesan cheese - about 3/4 cup. Overall - my family loved this - and I think that the drumsticks turned out better than the boneless because they did not soak up as much of the salt in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is an okay recipe, but after the rave reviews, I was expecting something spectacular. It was good, but it took a while to make, and the clean-up was really messy. The end result was just not worth all the work. I don't mind working really hard over a dish, but the results need to be pretty fabulous to jusify it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I made this recipe for two so I winged the measurements. We loved the flavor of the parmesan cheese and bacon/onion mixture but be careful not to use too much soy or it will be too salty. I will be making this again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Pleasantly strange mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Anniversary Chicken

See how to make a creamy, piquant chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States