Annie's Turkey Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was pretty good, but I think some of the things I didn't like might have been my own fault. I used dijonaise for the mustard/mayo portion and it turned out a little too mustardy for my liking. I didn't have any sweet pickles, so substituted dill. I did add some celery & green onion. Just didn't seem like turkey salad without it. I will definitely try this again and change the things to more closely match the original recipe. Will get back to you on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this this morning for lunch today and had to give it a taste. I don't usually experiment with recipes I have never made before, but with the rave reviews I just had to try it. After tasting for the first time, I said... hummmm let me taste it again. I am amazed at the combination of ingredients that blended together so well. Now I can't wait for my daughter and her husband to come for lunch. This is a real treat. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. If I could give it a 10 I would. I halved the recipe.. I, too, added a stalk of celery sliced thinly, used 3 cups of smoked turkey, leftover from Thanksgiving (vacuum sealed and frozen, of course), only 1 hard cooked egg and a dash of sweet paprika. Used a combination of dijonaisse and regular mayo with salt and pepper to taste. Next time, I will add a little of fresh dill just for a little change. But I see this recipe as being very versatile and you can add what you want. I LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
good stuff! Love to use for leftover recipe so we don't waste the good bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dardalton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I cut this in half, just for my family. I didn't have a mayo/mustard blend, so I just added a tbsp. of mustard. I also used homemade mayo and garlic dills. (Noone in this house likes sweet pickles.) I added a bit of the turkey stock, as that's what Miss Paula does. I also added two chopped stalks of celery and a little chopped sweet onion, to fill it out a bit and make it stretch. Smells divine. I'll update on how the family liked it after lunch. EDITED: My husband ate three sandwiches. He and I LOVED it, my kids not so much. I'll make it for us alone, for sure. And this is coming from someone who isn't a fan of salad sandwiches. EDITED AGAIN: Half a batch of this recipe made eight stuffed sandwiches. Not bad. I made a second batch yesterday and added a tsp. or so of garlic powder which made it even better. This sandwich filling is SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was okay for my family, we don't care for sweet pickles but wanted to try this anyway. I need to play with it some more to make it suit our taste. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Thanks for the recipe. It was good and a fast way to get rid of the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is so good. I used left over turkey, miracle whip, dijon mustard and dill pickles. I toasted a roll under the broiler with real parmesan cheese, pulled out of the oven, loaded up with the salad then added cayenne pepper on top. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is a really good way to use up leftover turkey. I found it was missing a couple things. I add celery, walnuts and some onion powder. I did not have a premade mayo/mustard blend so I added 1/2 cup mayo and 1/4 mustard. We are more of a mayo loving family. You cannot forget the salt and pepper in this salad either. I ate it in a sandwich with mozza cheese, spinach and tomato. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I came across this recipe today...it sounded too good to pass up! I cut the recipe in half, added diced purple onion & celery, and changed sweet pickles to dill. I topped one half a bun with sliced mozz cheese and the other with the salad; lightly toasted in oven; topped with lettuce tomatoe & honey mustard. Wonderful, Wonderful Recipe!! Perfect recipe to take to a luncheon. Thanks for sharing! ***I made this salad again. This time I added chopped pecans and golden raisins, and served with assorted crackers. Loved it this way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Photo by April
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I can't believe I posted a picture of this but didn't review. I agree with another reviewer, that the whole reason you should cook a turkey is for this recipe alone. It's fantastic!! I served it on toast with leftover cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States