Annie's Strawberry Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
We ultimately loved this, but I did make some changes. This being a dessert with many variations, one that has been around a loooong time, I knew there was too much butter for the relatively small amount of flour. This may be why some reviewers experienced a "hard" crust. Upping the flour to 2-1/4 cups took care of that problem. I also knew that no sugar would make for a pretty tasteless crust. Adding 1/2 cup of powdered sugar remedied that too. As for the filling, fresh whipped cream is so much better than Cool Whip if you don't mind the extra effort - I used one pint (2 cups or 16 ozs.) Although other reviewers remarked the filling was too sweet, I didn't have that issue since the fresh whipped cream , of course, is not sweetened while Cool Whip, of course, is. I did use a commercially prepared glaze, however, I brightened up the flavor with a little pure strawberry extract. A homemade glaze would have been even better, but I was pretty pleased with it as is. Bottom line, Hubs and I thought this pretty summer dessert was lick the plate good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was certainly a big hit at our dinner part last night. I used the suggestion to add 3/4 C of sugar to the crust and glad I did. I made my own glaze with recipe taken from Stawberry Pie I. Then mixed strawberries and glaze together before chilling. I think it tastes even better the next day. It certainly is NOT Weight Watcher friendly, but just have small portions -- it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This turned out very very well. Altho I think I am making a few changes the next time I make this. I was very unhappy with the crust. Had no flavor and after sitting in the fridge for 8 hours, became hard as a rock. Could not cut into it at all. A chocolate chip cookie crust with this is much better. The cream cheese part was so delicious and easy to make. Altho it was way too sweet. Less powdered sugar would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Really nice summertime dessert. I did take some other reviewers advice and made a few changes. I added 1/2 cup sugar to the crust which was perfect. I'm also not a fan of the prepared strawberry topping so I made my own like a strawberry pie with 1 cup water, 1 cup sugar, 4 T. cornstarch - cooked until clear, then added 4 T. strawberry jello. It was very pretty and nice that most of it can be made the day before. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It's perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I like the quickness of this dessert & the idea of chopped pecans in the crust, but crust was flavorless, and the cake part was way too sweet, I went ahead and made fresh strawberry glaze which was the perfect amount of sweetness instead of ready to use which I thought would have been too sweet. Next time I will add sugar to the crust like other mention and I will only use 1/2 to 1/2 cup confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybellz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
this dessert is delicious! I left off the strawberry glaze and did a graham cracker crust instead. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is simply awesome. I've given out the recipe at least 10 times. The only thing I changed was using refrigerated sugar cookie dough becasue I was in a hurry the first time I made it. I'm sure the crust in the recipe is fantastic, but the sugar cookie dough was good, so I'll continue taking this short cut. Thanks, I'm making it again tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I agree with other reviewers after making this as written. Crust was flavorless and dry. Use a graham cracker crust. I also reduced the powdered sugar to 1 1/2 cups, otherwise it would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States