Annie's Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Very good. Made as written, no substitutes and it was perfect. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Used 5 tbs butter instead of olive oil. Used lump crab meat, claw crab meat, and lobster pieces. Doubled the Cayenne Pepper. Used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. Might want to consider adding additional flour if you want it thicker, but using the suggested amounts seemed to be fairly thick. Had a great taste and a bit of a zing. Served in bread bowls, which was great (very filling!) and also toasted the inside pieces from the bread bowl and used as a "cracker substitute". Thoroughly enjoyed! Don't be afraid to add your own touch to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This soup is every bit as good as the indulgent version you will find at a restaurant. I'll cut back on the cayenne next time, but other than that, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very good. Will use less tomato paste next time. I used 4 cups of half and half instead of milk and lobster tails instead of claws. Added instant potato buds to thicken it up as we prefer a thicker chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Was so-so. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This has become one of my regular dishes. Easy and delish. Works beautifully with canned crab as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsJuliaGulia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is just awful. It tasted like an onion/tomato broth. Not at all like a restaurant style bisque. Wasted a lot of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Delicious!! My first try at making lobster bisque and it came out great - easy to make, too. I used 3 lobster tails - sauteed them in the onions until onions were translucent, removed tails and set aside. Then I added the tails back in once the milk, broth, and seasonings were added and let them simmer in the bisque for ~10 minutes (used meat thermometer to test - 145 degrees was perfect - thoroughly cooked but very tender). I removed the tails and let the bisque continue to simmer for 5 mores minutes while I removed the shells and cut the lobster into bite-sized chunks. I omitted the cayenne pepper because I do not like spice but think I may add a tiny pinch next time. Will also try shallots instead of white onions next time, too (just because I love shallots). Great recipe as is! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I absolutly loved this recipe! I did make some adjustments because of what I had in my kitchen but it turned out beautifully. I had quests over and one of them literally had four bowls of this. Plus I got a call the next day from two of the other guests to get the recipe. My adjustments were: I used 4 cups of whipping cream and the rest regular milk. I added garlic to the onions when sauteing and I used a whole can of tomato paste instead of half. I also added some crab meat to bulk up the seafood factor. I will definitly be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made this on Christmas day durning all the hubub I put in the whole can of tomatoe paste. It didnt matter it came out great!I also used 2 cups half and half ,3 milk....next time I might add more 1/2 & 1/2 or even some cream.You might as well go whole hog its.... Lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States