Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I loved this, but made some changes after reading ALL of the reviews and making it several times. To cut back on the sweetness and on the juice, I used NO added sugar in the fruit. I used orange marmalade for the preserves and froz peaches in place of raspberries and there was plenty of juice and it was quite sweet. (Sugar draws juice out, so it will have more liquid with the added sugar!) Also, I used Fuji apples which have less tendency to turn brown, and added the apples last so that they could be stirred into the other fruit to coat the apples. I had NO browning that way. To save time with the chips, I first sprayed 4 tortillas at a time with butter spray, front and back, and then cut them with the pizza cutter. Then I put the sugar mix ...1 c sugar to 1 t cinnamon,,,into a bowl and dredged the chips 2 at a time. One batch of the sugar mix did 2+ batches of the chips. I simply 'baggied' the remainder and used it another time. I did NOT spray them after sugaring. They don't need it if you spray both sides first. They did best at about 9-10 minutes baking. Overall, everyone loved this and neither the fruit nor chips were to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Here's a tip to save time chopping: Buy an egg slicer (available on the kitchen aisle of most grocery stores for about $4). It works great on strawberries!!! Just put Them in and slice them and then turn the other way and slice again. It dices them perfectly. I also use it for other soft fruits (kiwi, peaches etc. Just peel & cut into chunks first & use it the same way as with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I have made this recipe numerous times & everyone ALWAYS LOVES IT! It can take some time to make. I recommend chopping fruit with a food chopper (pampered chef has an excellent one). When I am really crammed with time I buy my cinamom sugar chips from Trader Joe's or if I'm lucky I sometimes find them at a grocery store. When I make the chips myself, after thoroughly cleaning my sink out I put a dinner plate in the sink & stack all the tortillas on it & spray both sides of the tortilla (4 at a time) with I can't believe its not butter or some other butter flavor spray. I then place the cinamon/sugar mix in the container the cinamon usually comes in (since it has the top with holes to sprinkle with) & sprinkle both sides of the tortilla BEFORE CUTTING it. This helps tremendously with the mess! Out of the sink on a seperate plate I cut 4 tortillas at a time with a pizza cutter. I didn't follow the cooking time the recipe reccomends (my oven is old) I would tap a couple of chips & once they felt a little crispy & were golden brown they are done! (the chips turn crispier as they cool) I usually use apricot preserves, & granny smith apples or fuji apples. As previous reviewers recomend, I cut the apples last to prevent browning. I sprinkle cinnamon & sugar to my taste for the salsa mix (I cut out brown sugar...to skip a step) I thought with the chips the recipe just didn't need as much sugar. This recipe is very versatile so play around with it! I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
842 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made the chips 2 days ahead of time and the salsa the morning of. I was worried since the fruit was out of season, but it turned out great! I also made a whole tortilla into a bowl, I baked it in a round dish and then served the salsa in that surrounded by the chips. Everyone raved about it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Very tasty! I cut the sugars in half, used plain ol' grape jelly and added blueberries...YUM. After I sprayed & sugared the chips, I stuffed them in my mini muffin tins so that they had the "scoop" affect & everybody raved. I also doubled the chip amount, they went quick! The salsa would also be good with angel food cake or even pound cake, mmmmmm. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Have made several times, all with rave reviews. Don't have time to make the tortilla chips??? Substitute them with cinnamon graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
WOW...USED GRANNY SMITH APPLES,STRAWBERRIES,RASBERRIES,KIWI,AND PLUMS.STRAWBERRY PRESERVES GAVE IT A NICE COLOR.MADE THE NIGHT BEFORE.BOTH FRUIT AND CHIPS WERE STILL FRESH.(COULD MAKE 2 NIGHTS BEFORE)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I made this recipe for a school function of about 30 people. Only 3 or 4 enjoyed the salsa. I added some fresh shredded coconut as well as mango. Almost everyone loved the cinnamon tortillas. To make my life easier I sprayed the cut tortillas with the cooking spray, threw them all into a gallon size zippered storage bag, and then added my cinnamon and sugar mix. After a few shakes all the chips were coated on both sides and I just layed them on the pans. Worked a lot easier than doing it one at a time. Overall, it was a miniature version of a fruit salad. But the chips were good without the "salsa".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I took this as an appetizer to a "cooking circle"--it won best dish that night! The girls could NOT stop eating it. Everyone LOVED this--especially the salsa. I too, would probably cut the sugar in the recipe. I used apricot preserves and everyone thought it added just the right touch. Very fun recipe and unusual! I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I have made this for a family party, a tailgate party & my company picnic. It receives RAVE reviews every time. I've lost count of the people who have requested the recipe. Young, old, everyone loves this recipe! I've substituted frozed mixed berries for the fresh and that worked pretty well and cut down on the prep time. I also double the chips, because so many people eat those alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States