Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This turned out really well. I followed the recipe exactly except I halved the white sugar and used I can't believe its not butter spray instead of butter flavored cooking spray. I sprayed both sides of the tortillas and they ended up getting kind gummy when I baked them, so I would only do one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Loved this recipe! It was so easy and was a huge hit at a Mother's Day Lunch I took it to. I am getting ready to make another batch and wanted to leave a review of how absolutely delicious it was. I changed up the sugar to splenda for both the white and brown sugars and used blackberry ja. I also used graham crackers instead of the chips simply because it saves so much time! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami0624

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Tried a different fruit combo: braeburn apples, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, fresh pineapple, and peaches. Really didn't need to add any sweetener, but added 1 TBSP sugar just to make more liquid while it sits. I used spray Parkay for the chips, but would use butter flavored cooking spray instead- the spray butter allowed for too much cinnamon/sugar mixture to stay on the chips. I paired 2 tortillas, cut them in half, placed the halves together, then cut the half-circle shapes into 4 triangles. A scissors worked great. Then I laid the pieces on a plate, sprayed one side, flipped them & sprayed the other side. I mixed the cinnamon & sugar in a gallon zip-close bag, placed 4 traingles at a time in the bag & shook to coat. Baked them 10-12 minutes per batch at 400. Super easy!! The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Served this at my guild and had many demands for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I have made this multiple times, and everyone always loves it. Super easy to make. The first time I made it exactly according to the recipe. the second time I didn't use kiwis (as I forgot the recipe when I went to the store!), but used blackberries instead. Also, I skipped the added sugar the second time around and it still turned out wonderful. I used raspberry preserves both times. Yum yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I used white fleshed nectarines instead of apples for a memorial day picnic (I thought it was more summery than an apple, which I associate with fall) and I also didn't add a lick of suger, just a teaspoon of homemade raspberry preserves and the result was fantastic! For the chips I used a homemade spiced sugar that had vanilla sugar (made by storing a vanilla bean in a small container of sugar), cardamom, cinnamon and nutmeg. Although regular cinnamon sugar would have been fine, I had this on hand so I used it. So amazing that even though I made loads, they were gone before the salsa was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wow can I give this 6 stars!!! Awesome recipe! I made three small changes. I used two tablespoons of honey in place of all the sugar, 5 grain tortillas and chopped the fruit a lot smaller that the fruit in the picture. I split the recipe into two and took it to two cookouts. For the first cookout I served it in a tortilla bowl that I made while I was chopping the fruit. I sprayed the tortilla with the cooking spray and pushed into the bottom of a bowl so it ruffled and backed at 350 for 15 mins. Filled it with the fruit right befor I left the house. The second house I served it in a bowl I made from the bottom half of a pineapple covered it with the top of the pineapple. Both were a beautiful presentation! Had to tell everyone how I made the Salsa and Chips so many times I should have had it typed out and ready when people asked. Everyone loved the chips by them self, could never make to many. Loved the salsa too but when you put them together it was pure BLISS!!! Everyone talked about how you could eat this as an appetizer, dessert or even for breakfest. I will be making this alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
REALLY good! Will cut the sugar next time, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Pretty easy to make and tastes great. The only thing I'd change is to take out the raspberries, and use raspberry preserves. A few tablespoons of that flavors the whole thing, and you can save some money not buying the fresh raspberries. Also, I didn't add any white sugar to the fruit, and it still tasted plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was AMAZING and oh, so easy. I ended up processing it much smaller than shown and it was just amazing. The first time I made it I forgot both sugars and am I glad! I can't imagine it being any sweeter. It was just perfect with just the natural preserves. I also added some blackberries and it was scrumptious. I can't say enough about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 3,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States