Anne's Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I have been making potato pancakes for YEARS and I always put my shredded potatos in a clean dishcloth and give them a good wringing before I add the eggs and such...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My red potatoes gave off a lot of liquid after shredding & I can't imagine adding 3 eggs to this. I only used one egg & still had to add at least twice the amount of flour called for. I should've used my common sense & squeezed the moisture out of the potatoes instead of trying to compensate by adding extra flour to a terribly soupy mixture. They didn't turn out bad but I could've saved myself some time & energy if I would've just trusted my own cooking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was good, but there was nothing overly special about it. Point to remember~ some spuds have more moisture than others. If you don't use the reds in the recipe, you may need to adjust the amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hernight2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Best potato pancakes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe! I LOVE the fact that I didn't have to peel or precook the potatoes. The only change I made was using green onions because that's all I had on had. I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Best potato pancakes I've ever made! Even my super-picky 5-year-old couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this recipe exactly and I found the lime juice too strong. I would eliminate this in future as there was already enough liquid from the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe. So much flavor! And very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
The rest of the family enjoyed them, but I found them much too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Made these for dinner last night and loved it! I have never had potato pancakes before and was very thrilled with the result. I chose 4 stars only because I thought there was too much salt. 1 tblsp is a lot, next time I'll use less. I also added some Italian blend cheese and deli meat. I followed the advice of another reviewer and wrang out the potatoes in some cheese cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States