Anne's Homemade Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Most excellent recipe! Everyone liked it! Great in breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I am delighted with this recipe which calls for normal ground meats. Ever look at the label when you buy chorizo from the store? Pork hearts and salivary glands - yuck! I have a few wonderful recipes that call for chorizo. I will use this every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. Its soooo good without all those left over parts that you have no clue what they actually are. This recipe is a keeper! I've made a few batches and given it away to family and friends. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
**DO NOT ADD JALAPENO JUICE as another reviewer stated! This will change the flavor completely. Mexican chili powders vary in flavor and spice by brand and variety. For more depth of flavor, MIX the chili powders. I personally used 3 different powders with fabulous results. This is the BEST basic chorizo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Anne, thank you sooooooo much for your recipe. I bought chorizo yesterday and asked the clerk what spices were added to make chorizo, chorizo. Well, he said he could remember off the top of his head. Thank you for your recipe. I will happily make it from scratch with your recipe and as you say it always taste better home made. An additional ingredient that I might add is fresh chopped lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliana07

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! My husband loves it, and it actually tastes better than the store bought one. I use organic meat, and added a bunch of chilli pods (Dried New Mexican ones) as well. Wash them, and blend them together with the ingredients before adding them to the meat. We just like it hotter. ; - ) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was exremely easy and very good. I added cumin, more garlic, jalapeno powder, paprika, and a little more salt. The smell was amazing. The whole family loved it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was a wonderful replacement for the over-fatty store bought variety. I switched the meat ratio (2#Pork, 1#Beef)because it is what I had on hand. I also used a variety of four different chili powders (totaling 3/4c) to get just the right amount of kick. I'll be keeping this as a staple in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Tippy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I've lost track of the number of times I've used this recipe as a base for chorizo. Generally I use this recipe as a base for Sliders. I add an egg and (wearing gloves) grab handfuls of the mixture and squeeze it through my fingers. This is to break down the meat and meld the ingredients together. I cut down on the chili powder in order to add other spices to make the sausage hotter. The recipe is good as is but very versatile if you want to make it your own. I've used this recipe as a meatloaf and as the meat component in soups. It is tasty and versatilel. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. My clientele consists not only of local residents but tourists from around the world. I am expected to prepare extraordinary soups and specials on a daily basis...on a limited budget with limited time. My ratings are based on customer response...so take them seriously. I have earned the reputation as the Soup Nazi (Seinfeld lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a great Chorizo recipe. This was our first attempt at making chorizo to add to several dishes that call for it. I added 2 tsp of cumin for a nice flavor and also used a mixture of chili powders. Half of chili powder I used was the generic grocery store variety and the other half was pasilla chili powder. Next time I will add a third variety to fine tune the heat and chili pepper taste to our personal liking. I took the advice of one reviewer and reversed the volume of beef and pork so that there was twice as much ground pork as there was beef. My wife loved it and we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Bacon

See how to make homemade bacon without curing or smoking.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States