Anne's Homemade Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
**DO NOT ADD JALAPENO JUICE as another reviewer stated! This will change the flavor completely. Mexican chili powders vary in flavor and spice by brand and variety. For more depth of flavor, MIX the chili powders. I personally used 3 different powders with fabulous results. This is the BEST basic chorizo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This tastes really good and makes your kitchen smell wonderful. Make as is if you like your chorizo non-spicy and low in salt. I elected to kick it up a notch, added a bit more garlic and salt, then about a teaspoon-ish of jalapeno juice to give it a little kick. Like I said, good as is, but a little bland for my taste. Add a little jalapeno and WOW! Thanks for this recipie, I've always wanted to make this on my own, instead of using the fatty mystery meat at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Anne, thank you sooooooo much for your recipe. I bought chorizo yesterday and asked the clerk what spices were added to make chorizo, chorizo. Well, he said he could remember off the top of his head. Thank you for your recipe. I will happily make it from scratch with your recipe and as you say it always taste better home made. An additional ingredient that I might add is fresh chopped lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliana07

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I've lost track of the number of times I've used this recipe as a base for chorizo. Generally I use this recipe as a base for Sliders. I add an egg and (wearing gloves) grab handfuls of the mixture and squeeze it through my fingers. This is to break down the meat and meld the ingredients together. I cut down on the chili powder in order to add other spices to make the sausage hotter. The recipe is good as is but very versatile if you want to make it your own. I've used this recipe as a meatloaf and as the meat component in soups. It is tasty and versatilel. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. My clientele consists not only of local residents but tourists from around the world. I am expected to prepare extraordinary soups and specials on a daily basis...on a limited budget with limited time. My ratings are based on customer response...so take them seriously. I have earned the reputation as the Soup Nazi (Seinfeld lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Good! My only change was to use chicken broth in place of the wine (I just didn't have any) and use ground turkey instead of beef & pork. I formed patties out of the meat and froze them individually. Fried some up yesterday, topped with some cheddar cheese and MMMMMM....! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. Its soooo good without all those left over parts that you have no clue what they actually are. This recipe is a keeper! I've made a few batches and given it away to family and friends. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was exremely easy and very good. I added cumin, more garlic, jalapeno powder, paprika, and a little more salt. The smell was amazing. The whole family loved it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I just want to say for those of you who put wine in chorizo, this is not "real Mexican chorizo" . I have always made my own "real Mexican chorizo" ground beef, chicken version, and vegetarian version for the past 30 years, but I never come across one with "wine". Well I tried it and my culture do not put alcohol in chorizo. I would leave out the wine, add chili flakes or cayenne to the vegetarian version. You're getting the "real Mexican" version this way. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this recipe without any alterations and wasn't very impressed. I made it on a Saturday, mixed it every day, and cooked some for the first time on Tuesday. The chorizo had a pretty distinct wine flavor that I had not noticed in other chorizo I've eaten. It was one of the dominant flavors. Maybe it is the wine I used... I just used a generic dry red wine. I'm glad others like this recipe, but it's not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was a wonderful replacement for the over-fatty store bought variety. I switched the meat ratio (2#Pork, 1#Beef)because it is what I had on hand. I also used a variety of four different chili powders (totaling 3/4c) to get just the right amount of kick. I'll be keeping this as a staple in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Tippy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Bacon

See how to make homemade bacon without curing or smoking.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States