Anne's Homemade Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a good chorizo recipe but it lacked the traditional spice of Cumin. I added 1 tsp of ground cumin (comino) and I added a few teaspoons of paprika.I will probably add a little more chili,too, next time. Classic chorizo is made with chile pasilla (dried chili pods that are softened in water and processed until smooth.) I will ommit the wine next time, too. I found the proportion of meat to spice good, though. It's an excellent recipe to start with. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! My husband loves it, and it actually tastes better than the store bought one. I use organic meat, and added a bunch of chilli pods (Dried New Mexican ones) as well. Wash them, and blend them together with the ingredients before adding them to the meat. We just like it hotter. ; - ) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
It's nice to know what's in your chorizo! This turned out great, so very easy. I cooked the chorizo, added boiled, cubed potatoes, scrambled with some eggs, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Thanks Anne! Great as is or step it up to your personal flavor. I flipped the meat ratio - 2# gr pork, 1# gr beef. I also added some additional New Mexico Chile powder (Chimayo chile) that has a roasted chile flavor w/ med heat and used 1 T of kosher salt (instead if 2t). I have to admit....the "nasty bits" make a chorizo as w/ any sausage. Without them, there is definately something missing. However this recipe does a good job as an introduction to this flavorful sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I am delighted with this recipe which calls for normal ground meats. Ever look at the label when you buy chorizo from the store? Pork hearts and salivary glands - yuck! I have a few wonderful recipes that call for chorizo. I will use this every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was pretty good but not outstanding. I was a bit nervous about the amount of chili powder called for but I actually wish I'd added more. I probably won't make this again, but thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Anne, thank you sooooooo much for your recipe. I bought chorizo yesterday and asked the clerk what spices were added to make chorizo, chorizo. Well, he said he could remember off the top of his head. Thank you for your recipe. I will happily make it from scratch with your recipe and as you say it always taste better home made. An additional ingredient that I might add is fresh chopped lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliana07

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
**DO NOT ADD JALAPENO JUICE as another reviewer stated! This will change the flavor completely. Mexican chili powders vary in flavor and spice by brand and variety. For more depth of flavor, MIX the chili powders. I personally used 3 different powders with fabulous results. This is the BEST basic chorizo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Most excellent recipe! Everyone liked it! Great in breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Good! My only change was to use chicken broth in place of the wine (I just didn't have any) and use ground turkey instead of beef & pork. I formed patties out of the meat and froze them individually. Fried some up yesterday, topped with some cheddar cheese and MMMMMM....! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States