Anne's Homemade Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
you might think i'm nutso but i made a vegetarian version of this which was amazing! i let all the seasonings get well acquainted in the fridge for a few hours before i mixed it up with my veggie burger recipe since that is designed for same day munching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this recipe without any alterations and wasn't very impressed. I made it on a Saturday, mixed it every day, and cooked some for the first time on Tuesday. The chorizo had a pretty distinct wine flavor that I had not noticed in other chorizo I've eaten. It was one of the dominant flavors. Maybe it is the wine I used... I just used a generic dry red wine. I'm glad others like this recipe, but it's not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Sadly, I found this recipe massively bland in comparison to the chorizo I've had?? I think the base given here is a good precursor to a fabulous recipe but its def lacking flavor(s) This recipe is a far cry from 'omg yum' I'll have to try some variations as suggested by some here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is really good chorizo! The key is to let it "cure" for 3 days in the fridge. This is only my second attempt at making my own sausage & because it was an absolute success, I'll be branching out & trying some other recipes. Thanks very much for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Just checked the label on my store bought Chorizo it's made with pork salivary glands and lymph nodes. This recipe will definitely be a welcome replacement. Thanks for the recipe Dylan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a great Chorizo recipe. This was our first attempt at making chorizo to add to several dishes that call for it. I added 2 tsp of cumin for a nice flavor and also used a mixture of chili powders. Half of chili powder I used was the generic grocery store variety and the other half was pasilla chili powder. Next time I will add a third variety to fine tune the heat and chili pepper taste to our personal liking. I took the advice of one reviewer and reversed the volume of beef and pork so that there was twice as much ground pork as there was beef. My wife loved it and we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I've lost track of the number of times I've used this recipe as a base for chorizo. Generally I use this recipe as a base for Sliders. I add an egg and (wearing gloves) grab handfuls of the mixture and squeeze it through my fingers. This is to break down the meat and meld the ingredients together. I cut down on the chili powder in order to add other spices to make the sausage hotter. The recipe is good as is but very versatile if you want to make it your own. I've used this recipe as a meatloaf and as the meat component in soups. It is tasty and versatilel. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. My clientele consists not only of local residents but tourists from around the world. I am expected to prepare extraordinary soups and specials on a daily basis...on a limited budget with limited time. My ratings are based on customer response...so take them seriously. I have earned the reputation as the Soup Nazi (Seinfeld lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was a wonderful replacement for the over-fatty store bought variety. I switched the meat ratio (2#Pork, 1#Beef)because it is what I had on hand. I also used a variety of four different chili powders (totaling 3/4c) to get just the right amount of kick. I'll be keeping this as a staple in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Tippy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I loved the concept of using my own ground meat but the flavor just wasn't there. If I try it again I will add more chile - probably from dried, red chiles, and the cumin and paprika most people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was exremely easy and very good. I added cumin, more garlic, jalapeno powder, paprika, and a little more salt. The smell was amazing. The whole family loved it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Bacon

See how to make homemade bacon without curing or smoking.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States