Annemarie's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These are wonderful lemon bars! After reading some reviews about too little lemon filling, I made a couple adjustments. I kept the crust the same but pressed it into a 9x9 pan and baked for 10 minutes. Then I increased the lemon filling to 1 1/2 times the amount in the recipe. This gave me the perfect ratio of crust and filling! Perfect balance of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I've been making these for about 6 years from this recipe. They are so delicious. I always make four batches. I use two batches in a 9 x 12 pan and they are just right. Everyone requests them and they get eaten up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Even my boyfriend who doesn't like sweets kept raving about this one. I did have to add about an extra tablespoon of butter into the crust. Also, when I was looking over the recipe it didn't look like there would be enough filling so I changed the serving size to 24 (original recipe makes 16). So - leave the crust measurements the same and multiply the filling measurements by 1.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were and are wonderful! I'm actually eating one right now as I type this! I have made these Lemon Bars a few times now and love the outcome...I'm completely addicted! lol I did change a few things to make it more to my liking. For instance, I baked the shortbread like crust for 15 mins instead of the 20 the recipe called for. I also added WAY more lemon juice...about 1/4 cup actually. :) My husband and I decided that we wanted more lemon taste. Thanks for a GREAT recipe that I will make all the time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Bateman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were fantastic! I had several lemon bar recipes to try, and I chose these specifically because some reviewers said there was not enough filling. I like more crust than filling (I must be the only one!), but no one else complained that there was not enough filling. The crust was nice and thick, and had a great shortbread taste. The filling is not too sweet, and had a perfect amount of lemon flavor. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
While these did turn out okay, it's definitely not was I was looking for. It makes a really thin bar, I wanted something thicker. It tastes fine, but I will never make again, or if I do, I will triple the filling. THOROUGLY DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I have been baking for many years, and this is the BEST lemon bar recipe I have ever come across. I would suggest cooking the crust for five minutes less than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNONJ77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this for a bake sale, and they were snapped up! Delicious taste! I cut the sugar in half and added some more lemon juice since I have a "sour" tooth. Overall, mouth-watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe and it was amazing! Its a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I made this recipe, but found there was not enough filling. The filling did not have enough lemon flavor as well. Although, they did come out tasting okay. Next time if I make them I will double the filling and add more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States