Annemarie's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by chinachewy
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was an awesome recipe and a great hit at work. Some things to keep in mind: I mixed the flour, sugar and butter together on a chopping board with my hands, squeezing the mixture together. I then put the crust in the square pan and pressed firm. I noticed the edges were more crumbly than the middle, so I brushed it to the center and pressed to the edges until it was all solid. #2: Don't make the filling too soon. It only takes about 30 seconds to blend, so I had it sitting there for about 20 mins. Wait until about 17 mins after your crust had been baking before you start blending the filling. #3: Also, I didn't have baking powder so I scratched it from the recipe. The lemon bars ended up firmer and easier to cut and eat. Even though there was less filling than the crust, I think adding more filling would make the lemon bar too strong and sweet. The cookie crust helped take away some of the sugar and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinachewy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I tripled the filling like the others suggested (and baked them for 25 minutes) and they tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I thought the crust was perfect. I also doubled the filling. Next time I will put cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i love these lemon bars. my sister has never tried them until i cooked them, she said they were great. one problem, i greased the pan, but they were hard to get out and after a couple of days, they got very hard, and you had to heat them up first THEN try to take them out. no problem besides that. I would reccomend this to anyone with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These are very good but I think they could use more filling. Next time, I'll double the filling. The bars are nice and light - great with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is my new favorite dessert! Doubled the filling, added lemon zest of one lemon to the crust and filling, used 1/2 real lemon juice and 1/2 artificial lemon juice. I can't get enough! *When you zest the lemon, only add the bright yellow. The lighter color underneath will give a bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are superb. I followed some of the other reviewers and doubled the amount of filling while leaving the crust as is. I also baked the crust for 15, instead of 20 minutes. I upped the lemon juice to about 1/2 a cup instead of the 1/3 cup that would be needed when doubling the filling. It made a tart filling which was great with the sweetness of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
these were very easy to make and a big hit. I think next time I will double the recipe though, there just weren't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was really good with some tweaking. I followed the suggestions to double the filling & added some zest to both the filling and crust, but I should have used more lemon juice, it just wasn't tart enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Used extra lemon because I like lemon. Perfect amount of filling. No other changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States