Annemarie's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is wonderful, made them twice already and everyone loved them. I did double the filling, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Refugio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe isn't too shabby, but it can use a LOT of tweaking. To start off with, in an 8x8 pan, the amount of ingredients listed for the crust is way too much. I used just over half of what I made and it covered the pan very nicely and puffed up to a nice sized crust. Then there's the filling. The filling is okay as written, but definitely can be better. Bump up the servings to 24 or 30 and you'll have enough to be able to call this a bar. Then you want to also add the zest of one lemon to really get a true lemon flavor. The juice alone isn't good enough. And if you don't like it super sweet, cut down on the sugar. I gave it 3 stars only because it's a decent starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
The crust was in for 15 minutes, per other comments. I also doubled the filling, but added a full 1/2c of lemon juice. I like it sour. Additionally, I used an 11x7 glass baking dish and these came out perfectly! By far the best lemon bars I've ever had. They're usually way too sweet and not very lemony, but these were excellent. Although I altered the recipe to my liking, this recipe was a great starting point and worthy of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was really good. I made the filling part for 24 servings and left the crust at 16 servings. I forgot to adjust the cooking time though, and the result was sort of like a lemon filled doughnut. My boyfriend really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Loved this recipe. Did not have to change anything. They were gone in a very short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made these as one of my Easter desserts this year. My guests and family absolutely loved them! I prefer freshly squeezed lemon juice and only added lemon concentrate because I doubled the recipe to a 9x13 pan and didn't have enough fresh lemon. The only tiny negative for me was a bit of a "floury" flavor in the lemon filling. But the buttery sweet shortbread crust is the star! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
These baked up nicely. The recipe seems to be missing a little bit, though. I added about 1 tsp vanilla to the lemon filling and doubled it. Next time I will add more butter to the crust mixture as it came out very dry before baking and crumbly after baking; too much flour and not enough butter, I think. I will also add more lemon juice for a more lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Don't be afraid if the bottom is a little dry at first. May need a bit less flour. SOOOOOO Yummy! Added a little more lemon juice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Tasty. More filling could be used, as well as more lemon flavor. Overall satisfying, quick and easy. Thought the timing on the crust (for our oven in Florida) was perfect. Will definitely make again and tweak with more lemon juice and more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I LOVE the blender idea, it makes it so simple!! I'll agree with the others about 1.5 the amount of filling being perfect, and upping the lemon juice/ zest factor. But really, really delicious and so so easy!! Way to go Annemarie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States