Anna's Linguica and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Super dish! My potatoes did not cook as quickly as planned. Might be my slow cooker. Start early, because this gets better with age. Seasonings are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Really good! We all loved it! As I filled my crock pot, there was no way all those zucchini and potatoes would fit. So I used 2 zucchini and 4 small potatoes. Because I live in an area with a large Basque population, linguica is easy to find, but until now, I'd only had it as a pizza topping. Now I have something new to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved it! The only way we've ever eaten linguica is to wrap it in foil with potatoes and bake or grill...which is good, but not something you'd serve to guests or bring to a potluck. You need to have one of the larger crockpots though. oh, and I omitted the bacon and did not miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My family is Portugese and we have traditionally had linguica as a breakfast meat. I made the stew for my father and his sister 2 weeks ago and then made it for my children last week. I would make it every week if I had an easy access to linguica! I didnt use a slow cooker, but cooked it slowly on the stovetop. It was YUMMY. This is an excellent recipe that I will use time and time again! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This dish is OK but nothing to write home about. To add more flavor, I think it needs more garlic, and add generous tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe was a wonderful comfort food. I used Hot linguica which gave it a nice kick. I also only used 1 pound of white potatoes. The second time I made it, I added a can of hominy. The flavor was incredible. It was great with sourdough bread. I wanted a little more sauce so I used 1 cup wine and three cans tomato sauce. This recipe does taste better over time. The second and third days later were even better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use for my son's venison kielbasa. This one worked great! My entire family loved it! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I thought this was bland. Too many potatoes. The sausage was OK. Nothing unusual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I have mixed views on this recipe.....being portuguese I grew up eating and making linguica. I liked the overall flavor but I think it needed more liquid...If I made it again I wouldnt do it in the slow cooker. I definetly want to give it another try but with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I really liked this recipe even tho i didnt think i would. I added an extra can of tomato sauce as someone else suggested and used red potatoes. I used the hot linguica which was too spicy for my husband but i LOVED! Next time ill use the mild or regular sausage so not to upset his tummy. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States